Welsh Premier League: The New Saints seal an 11th Welsh title

Craig Harrison
Craig Harrison was appointed as The New Saints' director of football in December 2011

The New Saints won their sixth straight Welsh Premier League title with a 4-0 victory at home to Bangor City.

Bala Town's 1-1 draw against Gap Connah's Quay on Friday meant Craig Harrison's side needed to beat Bangor to seal their 11th Welsh title.

Adrian Cieslewicz gave Saints the lead on the stroke of half time while Jamie Mullan doubled after the break.

Steve Saunders added a third while Mullan scored his second of the game with a fine individual goal.

"People ask 'do you get sick of it?' and no, obviously not, why would you get sick of winning trophies and games?" Harrison told BBC Radio Wales.

"For me this has been the most important one because at the start of the season a lot of people doubted us.

"I don't think it has been the easiest season, because the Welsh Premier League has improved immensely."

Harrison's side secured the title with seven games of the season remaining and remain on course for a third successive Welsh domestic treble.

Having already won the league and the Nathaniel MG League Cup, Saints face Gap Connah's Quay in the Welsh Cup semi finals on 1 April.

Saints were forced to wait longer than they had hoped to win a sixth successive Welsh Premier League title.

They lost 1-0 at Carmarthen Town, their first defeat of the season, in their last league game on 11 February while rivals Bala Town beat Cardiff Met 3-1 to keep alive their slim hopes of stealing the title from Harrison's side.

Top Stories

Elsewhere on the BBC