BBC AFOTY 2016: Riyad Mahrez or Sadio Mane will win award

BBC African Footballer of the Year

Algeria's Riyad Mahrez or Senegal's Sadio Mane will be crowned BBC African Footballer of the Year 2016 on Monday.

Fans from across the world voted for who they want to win the award.

The original five-man shortlist has been cut down in no particular order.

Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang, Andre Ayew and Yaya Toure were eliminated earlier on Monday.

The winner will be revealed in a live broadcast on BBC Focus on Africa TV, radio and online from 17:45 GMT.

It is the first time Leicester and Algeria winger Mahrez has been nominated for the award.

Riyad Mahrez
Mahrez was the Premier League's outstanding player last season

The 25-year-old enjoyed spectacular success as he inspired his English Premier League club - who had been 5,000-1 outsiders - to a first league title.

He scored 17 league goals and was voted Professional Footballers' Association Player of the Year - the first African to win the award. He also starred for Algeria as they qualified for the 2017 Africa Cup of Nations.

Read a full profile of Mahrez here.

Mane made his debut on the shortlist last year and is back again after an excellent 12 months.

The 24-year-old Senegal striker became the most expensive African footballer in history when he joined Liverpool for £34m in the summer.

Sadio Mane
Mane has been described as "unplayable" at his best

And he has made an immediate impact at Anfield, with seven goals in 16 games for the Reds. Before his move, he had scored eight league goals this year for Southampton, including a hat-trick against then champions Manchester City.

Read a full profile of Mane here.

The winner of the award will join a list of African greats who have collected the trophy before them, including Dider Drogba, Mohamed Aboutrika and Jay-Jay Okocha.