The New Saints set new Welsh Premier League wins record

The New Saints
The New Saints won two consecutive Welsh domestic trebles ahead of the 2016-17 season

The New Saints have become the first side to win 16 consecutive Welsh Premier League games in a season.

The league leaders thrashed Airbus UK Broughton 4-0 thanks to a brace from Jon Routledge and goals from Aeron Edwards and Scott Quigley on Friday.

The Saints have now won all 16 of their league games so far this campaign and have scored 60 goals in the process.

Bangor City had set the previous Welsh record of 15 consecutive wins back in the 2010-11 season.

On a night billed as 'David versus Goliath' by one fan, TNS will be grateful there was no biblical upset here.

After scoring three goals in the first half an hour, breaking the record was never in doubt.

Their 16-match winning run in a single season matches the best Barcelona have ever managed in La Liga in 2010-11.

But they are still some way off the British record - Martin O'Nell's Celtic won 25 league games in a row back in 2003-04.

Top Stories