Best Fifa Women's Player 2016: No British players among 10 nominees for award

Lucy Bronze
England and Manchester City defender Lucy Bronze was the FA's player of the year for 2015 but did not make the list

There are no British players among the 10 nominees for Fifa's best women's player of the year award.

The United States' 34-year-old midfielder Carli Lloyd - last year's Ballon d'Or winner - is on the list.

Fifa has since ended its association with the Ballon d'Or, which is still being run by France Football magazine.

Germany has three nominees who were part of the team that won gold at the Rio Olympics this summer, where Great Britain did not compete.

Britain's four national football associations could not agree on sending a team to the Games, meaning players such as England's Lucy Bronze - the FA's player of the year in 2015 - were absent.

The 10 players nominated are:

  • Camille Abily: Midfielder; 31; France and Lyon
  • Melanie Behringer: Midfielder; 30; Germany and Bayern Munich
  • Sara Dabritz; Midfielder, 21; Germany and Bayern Munich
  • Amandine Henry; Midfielder; 27; France and Portland Thorns
  • Saki Kumagai: Defender; 26; Japan and Lyon
  • Carli Lloyd; Midfielder; 34; USA and Houston Dash
  • Dzsenifer Marozsan; Midfielder; 24; Germany and Lyon
  • Marta; Forward; 34; Brazil and FC Rosengard
  • Lotta Schelin; Forward, 32, Sweden and FC Rosengard
  • Christine Sinclair; Forward; 33; Canada and Portland Thorns

The award is one of eight prizes to be announced at the Best Fifa Football Awards in Zurich, Switzerland on 9 January.

The votes of the captains and head coaches of all of the world's national teams will make up 50% of the result, with the other half split between an online public ballot and more than 200 media representatives around the world.

Former South Africa coach Vera Pauw has been shortlisted for best women's coach, while Wales manager Chris Coleman and Leicester City boss Claudio Ranieri have been nominated for Fifa's coach of the year award.

Fifa will announce 23 candidates for the men's best player award on Friday,

Top Stories