Aubameyang in frame for Caf award as Yaya Toure misses out

Gabon's Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang
Gabon's Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang, winner of the 2015 Caf award

Gabon and Borussia Dortmund striker, Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang, is in the frame to win a second Confederation of African Football (Caf) Player of the Year award.

Aubameyang, who picked up the title last year, is named on a preliminary list of 30 for Caf's annual title, which will be awarded at a gala on 5 January 2017 in Abuja, Nigeria.

Ivory Coast and Manchester City midfielder Yaya Toure, a four-times winner and runner-up to Aubameyang last year, is not on the list.

Toure, who captained Ivory Coast to Africa Cup of Nations success in 2015, was last year's BBC African Footballer of the Year, but has struggled this season under new Manchester City boss Pep Guardiola.

Cameroon legend Samuel Eto'o, currently in Turkey with Antalyaspor, is included in the list of names, and could win his fifth title.

There are five players who are also included on the list for the Africa-based player of the year, external-linkincluding Mamelodi Sundowns trio, Khama Billiat (Zimbabwe), Dennis Onyango (Uganda) and Keegan Dolly (South Africa).

12 of the 30 footballers play in the English Premier League, including Algeria's Riyad Mahrez who won England's PFA Player of the Year award last season.

List of players nominated for Caf's 2016 African Player of the year award:

  • Ahmed Musa - Leicester City (England) and Nigeria
  • Andre Ayew - West Ham (England) and Ghana
  • Aymen Abdennour - Valencia (Spain) and Tunisia
  • Benjamin Mounkandjo - Lorient (France) and Cameroon
  • Cedric Bakambu - Villareal (Spain) and DR Congo
  • Dennis Onyango - Mamelodi Sundowns (South Africa) and Uganda
  • El Arabi Hillel Soudani - Dinamo Zagreb (Croatia) and Algeria
  • Eric Bailly - Manchester United (England) and Ivory Coast
  • Hakim Ziyech - Ajax (Netherlands) and Morocco
  • Islam Slimani - Leicester City (England) and Algeria
  • Itumeleng Khune - Kaizer Chiefs (South Africa) and South Africa
  • John Mikel Obi - Chelsea (England) and Nigeria
  • Kalidou Koulibaly - Napoli (Italy) and Senegal
  • Keegan Dolly - Mamelodi Sundowns (South Africa) and South Africa
  • Kelechi Iheanacho - Manchester City (England) and Nigeria
  • Khama Billiat - Mamelodi Sundowns (South Africa) and Zimbabwe
  • Mbwana Samatta - Genk (Belgium) and Tanzania
  • Mehdi Benatia - Juventus (Italy) and Morocco
  • Mohamed El Neny - Arsenal (England) and Egypt
  • Mohamed Salah - Roma (Italy) and Egypt
  • Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang - Borussia Dortmund (Germany) and Gabon
  • Riyad Mahrez - Leicester City (England) and Algeria
  • Sadio Mane - Liverpool (England) and Senegal
  • Samuel Eto'o - Antalyaspor (Turkey) and Cameroon
  • Serge Aurier - PSG (France) and Ivory Coast
  • Victor Wanyama - Tottenham (England) and Kenya
  • Wahbi Khazri - Sunderland (England) and Tunisia
  • William Jebor - Wydad Casablanca (Morocco) and Liberia
  • Yannick Bolasie - Everton (England) and DR Congo
  • Yao Kouasi Gervais 'Gervinho' - Hebei Fortune (China) and Ivory Coast