Fifa sanctions nations over fan behaviour during World Cup qualifiers

Fifa logo

Fifa has imposed sanctions on 11 football associations for unsporting and discriminatory conduct by their fans during 2018 World Cup qualifiers.

Honduras, El Salvador, Mexico, Canada, Chile, Brazil, Argentina, Paraguay, Peru, Italy and Albania have all received fines.

Chile have also been ordered to play their qualifier against Venezuela on 28 March 2017 behind closed doors.

This is because it is their second infringement this year.

In May, they were banned from playing at the Estadio Nacional Julio Martinez Pradanos in Santiago for two matches and fined 30,000 Swiss francs (£24,004) as a result of homophobic chants from supporters, with the second suspension suspended for a year.

Some of the recent incidents by fans of the 11 nations included homophobic chants.

The fines range from 65,000 Swiss francs (£52,009), given to Honduras for two cases, to the 20,000 Swiss francs (£16,002) for Brazil and Canada.

Top Stories

Elsewhere on the BBC