League Cup: Away ties for relegated Premier League trio

Chelsea lift the 2015 Capital One Cup
Chelsea won the League Cup for the fifth time in their history when they beat Spurs at Wembley in March

Relegated Premier League sides Hull City, Burnley and Queens Park Rangers have all been given away ties in the first round of the League Cup.

Hull and 1967 winners QPR are paired with League Two sides Accrington Stanley and Yeovil Town while Burnley face a trip to Port Vale of League One.

Promoted Conference champions Barnet face a London derby at Millwall.

Bristol Rovers, also back in the Football League for 2015-16, host twice winners Birmingham City.

The 12 Premier League sides that are not competing in Europe do not feature until the second round.

League Cup winners 1961-2015
8 - Liverpool5 - Aston Villa, Chelsea
4 - Manchester Utd, Nottingham Forest, Tottenham Hotspur3 - Leicester City, Manchester City
2- Arsenal, Birmingham City, Norwich City, Wolves1 - Blackburn Rovers, Leeds United, Luton Town, Middlesbrough, Oxford United, QPR, Sheffield Wednesday, Stoke City, Swansea City, Swindon Town, West Bromwich Albion

Holders Chelsea, Manchester City, Arsenal, Manchester United, Tottenham Hotspur, record eight-times winners Liverpool, Southampton and West Ham United all come in at the third round stage.

In total, there are 11 former League Cup winners among the 72 teams in the first round draw.

Nottingham Forest, one of only six teams to have lifted the trophy four times or more, host League One side Walsall, while Kenny Jackett's Wolves, twice winners, also have a home tie against Welsh side Newport County.

Blackburn Rovers, winners in 2002, host promoted League One side Shrewsbury Town; 1968 winners Leeds United face a Yorkshire derby at Doncaster, and Middlesbrough, who won the cup in 2004, go to 1990 runners-up Oldham Athletic.

Luton Town, who beat Arsenal at Wembley in 1988, host League One champions and Johnstone's Paint Trophy holders Bristol City.

Swindon Town, who won in 1969, when they also beat Arsenal, host League Two side Exeter City; Oxford United, winners in 1986, must go to Championship side Brentford, and Sheffield Wednesday, the 1991 victors, host Mansfield Town.

All ties will be played in the week commencing 10 August.

Capital One Cup first round draw

Carlisle United v Chesterfield

Nottingham Forest v Walsall

Fleetwood Town v Hartlepool United

Scunthorpe United v Barnsley

Bolton Wanderers v Burton Albion

Accrington Stanley v Hull City

Rochdale v Coventry City

Oldham Athletic v Middlesbrough

Huddersfield Town v Notts County

Blackburn Rovers v Shrewsbury Town

Morecambe v Sheffield United

Doncaster Rovers v Leeds United

Wigan Athletic v Bury

Northampton Town v Blackpool

Sheffield Wednesday v Mansfield Town

Rotherham United v Cambridge United

Crewe Alexandra v Preston North End

York City v Bradford City

Port Vale v Burnley

Peterborough United v Crawley Town

Yeovil Town v Queens Park Rangers

Plymouth Argyle v Gillingham

Swindon Town v Exeter City

Bristol Rovers v Birmingham City

Ipswich Town v Stevenage

Luton Town v Bristol City

Charlton Athletic v Dagenham & Redbridge

Wolverhampton Wanderers v Newport County

Brentford v Oxford United

Portsmouth v Derby County

Southend United v Brighton & Hove Albion

Milton Keynes Dons v Leyton Orient

Cardiff City v AFC Wimbledon

Millwall v Barnet

Wycombe Wanderers v Fulham

Colchester United v Reading

Top Stories