National League
WrexhamWrexham3AldershotAldershot Town1

Wrexham 3-1 Aldershot Town

Andy Bishop
Andy Bishop spent a loan spell at Wrexham before joining on a permanent deal in July 2013

Wrexham came from behind to beat Aldershot to end a nine-game winless run in the Conference.

Former Wrexham loanee Dan Holman cut in from the right before firing home from outside the box to give Aldershot the lead.

Wes York wasted a good chance before Mark Carrington levelled with a composed finish.

Andy Bishop put Wrexham ahead before substitute Louis Moult converted a penalty after Bishop was tripped.

Wrexham manager Kevin Wilkin told BBC Radio Wales:

"I'm delighted for all the boys that have shown a real character to get through after a difficult start and a thoroughly deserved win.

"It pleases me again Andy (Bishop) has got on the score sheet and [Louis] Moult has got off the bench and got on the scoresheet.

"Overall the lads have dug in and shown that character and hopefully we will show it again on Tuesday and win that game as well."

Aldershot Town boss Andy Scott told BBC Surrey:

"We started off well but the energy levels just weren't there and when we do play with the energy we have done over the last 10 games, when it drops off it shows. We weren't able to get into the game and we conceded a poor equaliser and when you're tired physically, mentally you have to make sure your right on it.

"We didn't do the basics right today and whether that was tiredness or people trying to do too much but we look visibly lacking in the energy we had done. Most of the side has played in all games in that short period of time and we've put the same 11 out there for necessity really.

"You have to credit the players on what they've done recently but it wasn't good enough today and even when things aren't going for you, you have to do the basics right and we didn't. We have to make sure this is something they learn from and highlights when you do things simple and easier it enables you to stay in the game."



Formation 4-3-3

  • 27Flatt
  • 18White
  • 4Smith
  • 30PearsonSubstituted forTomassenat 79'minutes
  • 3Ashton
  • 2Carrington
  • 6ClarkeSubstituted forHarrisat 74'minutesBooked at 90mins
  • 15Evans
  • 24Jennings
  • 10Bishop
  • 16YorkSubstituted forMoultat 68'minutes


  • 7Durrell
  • 8Harris
  • 9Moult
  • 14Tomassen
  • 29Thompson


Formation 4-3-3

  • 1Smith
  • 12Gibbs
  • 2Oastler
  • 5Wilson
  • 17Diallo
  • 7Hatton
  • 8MolesleySubstituted forDerryat 81'minutes
  • 16ForbesSubstituted forFitchettat 66'minutes
  • 23HolmanSubstituted forBarkerat 46'minutes
  • 9Williams
  • 21McCollin


  • 6Barker
  • 10Fitchett
  • 13Thomas
  • 19Derry
  • 24Welch
Karl Evans

Match Stats

Home TeamWrexhamAway TeamAldershot
Shots on Target

Live Text

  1. Post update

    Match ends, Wrexham 3, Aldershot Town 1.

  2. Full Time

    Second Half ends, Wrexham 3, Aldershot Town 1.

  3. Post update

    Corner, Wrexham.

  4. Post update

    Corner, Wrexham.

  5. Post update

    Foul by Tom Derry (Aldershot Town).

  6. Post update

    Mark Carrington (Wrexham) wins a free kick.

  7. Post update

    Attempt missed. Jay Harris (Wrexham) right footed shot from outside the box misses to the right.

  8. Post update

    Foul by Andre McCollin (Aldershot Town).

  9. Post update

    Manny Smith (Wrexham) wins a free kick.

  10. Booking

    Jay Harris (Wrexham) is shown the yellow card for a bad foul.

  11. Post update

    Foul by Jay Harris (Wrexham).

  12. Post update

    Joe Oastler (Aldershot Town) wins a free kick.

  13. Post update

    Foul by Louis Moult (Wrexham).

  14. Post update

    Sam Hatton (Aldershot Town) wins a free kick.

  15. Post update

    Attempt saved. Louis Moult (Wrexham) right footed shot from outside the box is saved.

  16. Substitution

    Substitution, Aldershot Town. Tom Derry replaces Mark Molesley.

  17. Post update

    Foul by Rob Evans (Wrexham).

  18. Post update

    Mark Molesley (Aldershot Town) wins a free kick.

  19. Substitution

    Substitution, Wrexham. Steve Tomassen replaces James Pearson.

  20. Post update

    Foul by Jay Harris (Wrexham).

Top Stories