Irish Premiership: Ballinamallard Utd 0-4 Cliftonville

Champions Cliftonville ease past Ballinamallard United with a convincing 4-0 success at Ferney Park in the Irish Premiership

Champions Cliftonville moved to the top of the Premiership and maintained their unbeaten league record by thumping Ballinamallard United at Ferney Park.

George McMullan scored with a 16th-minute penalty after Mark Stafford brought down David McDaid.

Chris Curran slotted the ball under goalkeeper Fergal Murphy on 32 minutes and then Joe Gormley found the open net with a simple finish after 72.

McDaid lifted the ball over Murphy for the fourth four minutes later.

The victory made it three wins from three away games for the Reds as they responded to manager Tommy Breslin's pre-match demand to up their game.

After McMullan's opener from the spot, Curran latched onto a long ball and scored after selling the keeper a dummy.

Anthony Elding had the best chance of the first half for the Mallards but he smashed the ball into the sidenetting from an acute angle.

After the break, Ryan Campbell also hit the sidenetting, while Leon Carters saw his weak header saved.

McDaid set up Gormley for goal number three and completed the rout with a neat finish soon after.

Cliftonville are at home to third-placed Linfield on Tuesday night.

Top Stories