Scotland: Grant Hanley withdraws for Poland friendly

Blackburn Rovers defender Grant Hanley

Blackburn Rovers defender Grant Hanley has joined Norwich City midfielder Robert Snodgrass in withdrawing from the Scotland squad to face Poland.

Hanley missed his club's 4-0 defeat by Bolton on Saturday with a calf injury.

The Scottish Football Association announced at the weekend that Celtic striker Leigh Griffiths would replace Snodgrass.

Norwich had asked for Snodgrass to be rested for Wednesday's game because of a recurring muscle problem.

He played only 45 minutes of Sunday's 4-1 defeat by Aston Villa in the English Premier League.

The call for Griffiths, who joined Celtic from Wolves in January, came after he scored a hat-trick in Celtic's 5-0 thrashing of Inverness Caledonian Thistle.

Celtic striker Leigh Griffiths
Griffiths was called up after scoring a hat-trick for Celtic against Inverness

The 23-year-old already has four international caps.

The match at Warsaw's National Stadium is part of Scotland coach Gordon Strachan's preparations for the Euro 2016 qualifying campaign, which begins in September.

in the same European Championships qualifying group as Adam Nawałka's Poland, as well as Germany, Republic of Ireland, Georgia and Gibraltar.

In their second official international, newcomers Gibraltar lost 4-1 to the Faroe Islands on Saturday.

Manchester United's Darren Fletcher is back in the Scotland squad having recently returned to club action following a lengthy absence through illness.

The 30-year-old, who has 61 caps, could make his first international appearance since 2012.

Dundee United left-back Andrew Robertson has received his first call-up and Sunderland's Phil Bardsley returns to the squad.

Scotland squad

Goalkeepers: Matt Gilks (Blackpool), David Marshall (Cardiff City), Allan McGregor (Hull City)

Defenders: Phil Bardsley (Sunderland), Christophe Berra (Ipswich Town), Gordon Greer (Brighton and Hove Albion), Alan Hutton (Aston Villa), Russell Martin (Norwich City), Andrew Robertson (Dundee United), Steven Whittaker (Norwich City)

Midfielders: Charlie Adam (Stoke City), Ikechi Anya (Watford), Barry Bannan (Crystal Palace), Scott Brown (Celtic), Chris Burke (Birmingham City), Darren Fletcher (Manchester United), James Forrest (Celtic), James Morrison (West Bromwich Albion), Charlie Mulgrew (Celtic)

Forwards: Steven Fletcher (Sunderland), Leigh Griffiths (Celtic), Ross McCormack (Leeds United), Steven Naismith (Everton)