Clubs learn Champions League and Confederation Cup draw

2013 Champions League winners Al Ahly

Champions Al Ahly and Tunisia's Esperance are two of six clubs who have been given byes in the preliminary round of the 2014 Champions League.

The other clubs are Confederation Cup winners CS Sfaxien, TP Mazembe of DR Congo, Al Hilal of Sudan and Cameroon's Coton Sport.

A total of 52 clubs have entered for next year's competition.

The draw for the premier Confederation of African football club competition sees several past winners, including Zamalek, Enyimba and Raja Casablanca, involved in the preliminary rounds.

Two-time winners Enyimba will first host Ange de Notse of Togo, while Zamalek face AS Douanes of Niger and Raja are up against Diamond Stars of Sierra Leone.

Atlabar will become the first club from South Sudan to feature in the competition and they are drawn against Ghana's Berekum Chelsea.

The preliminary rounds will kick off on the weekend of 7-9 February, while the return leg matches will be played a week later.

The Round of 16 matches will be played between 28 February and 9 March, while the final qualifying round are slated for between 21-30 March.

In the Confederation Cup, 42 clubs will compete for the top prize.

This year's winners CS Sfaxien as well as runners-up TP Mazembe have opted for the more prestigious Champions League.

Nigerian pair Bayelsa United and Warri Wolves have been given byes, as have Asec Mimosas (Ivory Coast), MAS (Morocco), Djoliba (Mali), Ismaily, Wadi Degla (Egypt), Zesco United (Zambia), Al Ahly Shandy (Sudan) and Etoile du Sahel, CA Bizerte (Tunisia).

Malakia will be the first club from South Sudan to feature in this competition and they are pitted against Cara of Congo in the preliminary round.

The first leg preliminary round matches will begin on 7 February.

Top Stories