Europa League winners will get Champions League place

John Terry with the Europa League trophy

The 2015 Europa League winners will qualify for the following season's Champions League, Uefa has confirmed.

The move is designed to boost interest in Europe's secondary club tournament.

The decision at Uefa's Congress follows months of talks between the governing body and the European Club Association.

Meanwhile, Berlin's Olympic Stadium has been revealed as the venue for the Champions League final in 2015, while the Europa League final that year will be held at Warsaw's National Stadium.

The Europa League generates far less income and media attention than the Champions League.

Uefa has tried a number of initiatives to increase interest, with previous attempts including changing its name from Uefa Cup to its current title in 2009.

Currently, teams who finish third in their Champions League group drop into the Europa League.

This season's Europa League final was contested between two teams who entered the competition that way, Chelsea beating Benfica 2-1 in Amsterdam.