Arsenal striker Robin van Persie named PFA Player of the Year

Robin van Persie named PFA Player of the Year

Robin van Persie has been named as the Professional Footballers' Association's Player of the Year.

The 28-year-old striker has scored 38 times this season, including 34 goals in all competitions for Arsenal.

The Dutch international, who is the Premier League's top goalscorer, said: "If other people are saying it, it is special, but it is even more special if your opponents are saying it.

"If they make up their minds that I'm the best player it is a big honour."

Van Persie, who has been inspirational for Arsene Wenger's side, was also quick to acknowledge the importance of his team-mates.

"Without them I could not have achieved it," he said. "For example, Theo Walcott, he has given me more than 12 assists and I do really appreciate that.

Van Persie is enjoying his most fruitful season since signing for Arsenal in 2004, helped largely by a fruitful switch into the centre-forward role.

"To be fair, when I first went there I wasn't really as confident and I wasn't really sure I could do it," he added.

"It took a bit of time but after a couple of months I slowly realised I could do a good job there."

Van Persie won the award ahead of Manchester United's Wayne Rooney, Tottenham's Scott Parker and Manchester City trio Sergio Aguero, Joe Hart and David Silva.

Tottenham and England defender Kyle Walker was named the PFA's Young Player of the Year.

Manchester City had the most representatives in the team of the year, with four on the list - Joe Hart, Vincent Kompany, David Silva and Yaya Toure.

Premier League team of the year: Joe Hart (Man City), Kyle Walker (Tottenham), Vincent Kompany (Man City), Fabricio Coloccini (Newcastle), Leighton Baines (Everton), David Silva (Man City), Yaya Toure (Man City), Gareth Bale (Tottenham), Scott Parker (Tottenham), Robin van Persie (Arsenal), Wayne Rooney (Man Utd).

Championship team: Kelvin Davis (Southampton), Nathaniel Clyne (Crystal Palace), James Tomkins (West Ham), Curtis Davies (Birmingham), Ian Harte (Reading), Adam Lallana (Southampton), Peter Whittingham (Cardiff), Mark Noble (West Ham), Matt Phillips (Blackpool), Rickie Lambert (Southampton), Jay Rodriguez (Burnley).

League One team: Ben Hamer (Charlton), Jack Hunt (Huddersfield), Michael Morrison (Charlton), Harry Maguire (Sheff Utd), Rhoys Wiggins (Charlton), Johnnie Jackson (Charlton), Stephen Quinn (Sheff Utd), Stephen Gleeson (MK Dons), Darren Potter (MK Dons), Jordan Rhodes (Huddersfield), Ched Evans (Sheff Utd).

League Two team: Robert Olejnik (Torquay), Paul Caddis (Swindon), Kyle McFadzean (Crawley), Ian Sharps (Shrewsbury), Kevin Nicholson (Torquay), Matt Ritchie (Swindon), Marlon Pack (Cheltenham), Eunan O'Kane (Torquay), Lee Mansell (Torquay), Izale McLeod (Barnet), Tyrone Barnett (Crawley).