Connah's Quay return to Welsh Premier

Welsh Premier League

Connah's Quay have secured promotion back to the Welsh Premier League after the north Wales club were crowned Cymru Alliance League champions.

Gary O'Toole and substitute Rhys Healey scored as they beat Welsh Cup finalists Cefn Druids 2-0 to retain their title and end a two-year top-flight absence.

Newtown and Aberystwyth are currently in the Welsh Premier's relegation zone but Carmarthen are still in danger.

Although one team may earn a reprieve from Welsh Premier relegation.

A team might not be promoted from the Welsh League, the Welsh Premier's other feeder league, as just one club in that league has earned the domestic licence required to compete in the Welsh Premier.

Haverfordwest County are the only team in the Welsh League to gain the necessary licence but they will only be promoted if the finish in the top two of Welsh League Division One.

But Haverfordwest, relegated from the Welsh Premier last season, are currently third behind Cambrian & Clydach and Bryntirion Athletic.

Connah's Quay, meanwhile, are back in the Welsh Premier after dropping out when the league was cut to 12 teams at the start of the 2010/11 season.

The Deeside Stadium club won the Cymru Alliance last season but was denied Welsh Premier promotion - however, Connah's Quay now have the domestic licence.