Ballinamallard win Championship title as Newry lose

Ballinamallard United secured promotion to the Irish Premiership as they clinched the Championship title by beating Bangor 3-2 on Saturday.

Newry City's 1-0 defeat by Limavady means that the Fermanagh club cannot be caught at the top of the table.

Andy Crawford, Chris Curran and Steve Feeney struck first-half goals as Ballinamallard moved into a 3-0 lead.

Bangor hit goals on either side of half-time but Ballinamallard held on to secure the Championship title.