TNS face Cefn Druids in Welsh Cup final

Llanelli win the 2011 Welsh Cup
Llanelli beat Bangor City 4-1 in the 2011 Welsh Cup

The New Saints will face Cefn Druids in the Welsh Cup Final on 5 May after beating Bala 4-0 at Aberystwyth.

Nicky Ward, Greg Draper, Ryan Fraughan and Aeron Edwards scored TNS' goals.

Wales' oldest team, The Druids, are in the final for the first time in 108 years after an earlier 4-1 semi-final win over Airbus at Rhyl.

The Druids were also the only lower-league side in this season's semis, but they overcame the gulf in status in impressive fashion.

Tony Cann struck twice with Danny Taylor's own-goal sandwiched in between and Andy Swarbrick ensured victory while Mark Griffith replied.

Bala were bidding to be in the final for the first time, but were outclassed by TNS.

Cefn Druids, who lost to Wrexham in the first Welsh Cup final in 1878, have won the competition eight times and are the first lower league side in the final since Afan Lido, who lost to Carmarthen Town in 2007.

Welsh Premier leaders TNS hope to complete the first Welsh Cup and league double since they achieved the feat in the 2004-05 season.

Cymru Alliance side the Druids played in the first Welsh Cup game against Newtown in October 1877 and can now look forward to the final at Bangor's Nantporth Stadium.

Llanelli's Parc y Scarlets had been the expected venue, but the Football Association of Wales have switched to a north Wales venue to accommodate the clubs left in the competition.

Wrexham's Racecourse Ground was the preferred option, but was deemed unavailable because of the club's possible Conference play-off commitments.

Top Stories