Nigeria name U20 World Cup squad

By Oluwashina OkelejiBBC Sport, Lagos
Nigeria under 20 coach John Obuh
Coach John Obuh is confident Nigeria can finally land the world U20 crown

Nigeria under-20 coach John Obuh has retained the majority of players who won the African Youth Championship for the World Cup in Colombia.

Captain Ramon Azeez and Uche Nwofor, top scorer at the AYC, are included in the Flying Eagles' final 21-man squad.

Injury knocked out Lazio's Onazi Ogenyi while defender Jamiu Alimi, of Belgian club Westerlo, was also omitted.

Local stars Gbenga Arokoyo, Kelly Godwin and Chidi Osuchukwu also missed out on the final cut.

"The coaches made their final choices for the U20 World Cup after intensive training in Portugal and Panama," Flying Eagles' media officer Samm Audu told BBC Sport.

"We believe we have a squad good enough to make Nigerians proud.

"It's a balanced squad packed with players who are hungry for success and who also know that an entire nation expects a lot from them."

Despite dominating the African scene, Nigeria are still chasing their first success at the World Youth Championship since the tournament began in 1979.

The Flying Eagles finished as runners-up at the 1989 and 2005 editions, losing to Portugal and Argentina respectively.

Nigeria have been drawn in Group D against Guatemala, Croatia and Saudi Arabia.

Cameroon, Egypt and Mali are the other African representatives at the World Youth Championship which is scheduled for 29 July-20 August.

Nigeria's final squad for Colombia 2011:

Goalkeepers: Danjuma Paul (Nasarawa United), Kazim Yekini (Kwara United), Gideon Gambo (Sharks)

Defenders: Kenneth Omeruo (Standard Liege/Belgium), Chiemezie Mbah (Warri Wolves), Gani Ogungbe (Gateway FC), Emmanuel Anyanwu (Enyimba), Terna Suswan (Vitoria Setubal/Portugal), Felix Odoh (First Bank Lagos)

Midfielders: Philemon Daniel (Kwara United), Abduljaleel Ajagun (Dolphin), Sani Tahir (Vejle/DEN), Ramon Azeez (Almeria/SPA)

Strikers: Ahmed Musa (VVV Venlo/Netherlands), Uche Nwofor (Enugu Rangers), Bright Ejike (Sharks), Olanrewaju Kayode (Asec/Cote d'Ivoire), Sani Emmanuel (Lazio/Italy), Omo Ojabu (Dolphin), Terry Envoh (Sharks), Egbedi Edafe (unattached)

Coach: John Sam Obuh

Top Stories