Histon ring the changes following relegation

Lanre Oyebanjo
Oyebanjo, a signing from Brentford in 2008, has been offered a new deal

Histon have offered a contract to Lanre Oyebanjo and are in talks with Dee Okojie and Omer Riza, while six players have left the club.

George Lawton, Antonio Murray, Erkan Okay and Callum Stewart have been released after reaching the end of their contracts.

Zac Attwood and Remy Clerima have had one-year options activated.

Lee Smith has left after turning down new terms and David Knight is allowed to talk to clubs about a free transfer.

Zak Mills, Daniel Sparkes, Jim Stevenson and Lewis Taaffe are still contracted to the Stutes, who will play in the Blue Square Bet North next season following relegation from the Blue Square Bet Premier.

Midfielder Okojie and striker Riza have been on non-contract terms at the Glass World Stadium and will talk to boss David Livermore about their futures.

"This is always a difficult time of year at any football club and letting players go is never easy," Livermore told the club websiteexternal-link.

"Those who are leaving have all done well for us but unfortunately we are not in a position financially to keep them.

"We have been, and continue to be actively searching for new players to strengthen the squad and I am looking forward to starting pre-season and preparing for the challenge of our first season in the Conference North."

Meanwhile Histon have appointed Rick Winter as club president, with Peter Beston departing after 10 years in the position.

Top Stories