Man Utd's 20 league titles in pictures

Manchester United win the title in 1996
1995-1996: Majestic Cantona returns wiser after his infamous 'Kung-fu kick' ban to lead the United "kids", who pundit Alan Hansen said "can't win anything", to a title that looked unlikely after some serious struggles early in the season
Manchester United win the title in 1994
1993-1994: In the year that Sir Matt Busby dies at the age of 84, one of United's strongest ever sides [Schmeichel; Parker, Bruce, Pallister, Irwin; Kanchelskis, Ince, Keane, Giggs; Hughes, Cantona] romps to the club's first League and FA Cup Double
Manchester United win the league in 2007
2006-2007: After Jose Mourinho's Chelsea steal the limelight for a couple of years, a new generation of stars - with Wayne Rooney and Cristiano Ronaldo taking centre stage - bed in at Old Trafford to bring back success
David Beckham, Ole Gunnar Solskjaer, and Eric Cantona
1996-1997: David Beckham starts a stunning campaign by scoring from 60 yards, but it's £1.2m Norwegian striker Ole Gunnar Solskjaer who proves crucial in a season when European failure precedes Cantona's shock exit
Roy Keane and Jaap Stam; Dwight Yorke and Andrew Cole
1998-1999: Such was the core strength of United's side, in which midfielder Roy Keane hit unthinkable heights and striker Dwight Yorke starred in his first year at the club, they won an unprecedented Premier League, FA Cup and European Champions League treble
Manchester United win the league in 2000
1999-2000: The aura of European champions proved too much for rivals like Arsenal, and the rest of the league, as a powerful and confident United cruise to another title - finishing a remarkable 18 points clear
Sir Alex Ferguson, Teddy Sheringham, and Fabien Barthez
2000-2001: Ferguson clinches an historic third league championship in a row with striker Teddy Sheringham (centre) top scoring and eccentric French goalkeeper Fabien Barthez (right) pulling off some stunning saves
Juan Sebastian Veron and David Beckham; Rio Ferdiand and Ruud Van Nistelrooy
2002-2003: Beckham links up with £28m signing Juan Sebastian Veron before moving to Real Madrid, while prolific Dutch striker Ruud van Nistelrooy is the toast of his team-mates with yet another avalanche of goals
Manchester United win the league in 2009
2008-2009: Fresh attacking talent such as Nani and Dimitar Berbatov shine, while old faces - Gary Neville, Paul Scholes and Ryan Giggs - remain inspirational as United once again clinch three straight titles
Michael Carrick and Ronaldo
2007-2008: With midfielder Michael Carrick in rich form, United's attacking trio of Ronaldo, Rooney and Argentine striker Carlos Tevez proves irresistible as they overcome Chelsea on the domestic front - and in Europe
Bobby Charlton, Denis Law and George Best
1966-1967: With Denis Law one of the best strikers in Europe, United's 'Holy Trinity' of Best-Law-Charlton help the club win a seventh league title, a year before going on to beat Benfica to lift the European Cup
Billy Meredith
1907-1908: Just two years after being promoted to the top flight, and not long after being saved from a winding-up order, Manchester United clinch their first league title with Billy Meredith (left) their inspiration
Charlie Roberts
1910-1911: Charlie Roberts takes over the captain's armband to lead United, who started out life as Newton Heath, back to the pinnacle of English football as they pip main rivals Aston Villa to the title by a point
Johnny Carey and Charlie Mitten
1951-1952: With Matt Busby now at the helm, a 41-year wait for the return of the title to Old Trafford is over as Irish captain Johnny Carey and forward Charlie Mitten help the club bring back some post-war silverware
Duncan Edwards and Eddie Colman
1955-1956: Having completely revamped the club with a strong focus on youth players, Busby's decision to bring through his 'Babes' - such as Duncan Edwards (left) and Eddie Colman (right) - is rewarded in fine style
Manchester United in 1957
1956-1957: With the supremely gifted 'Busby Babes' in full flow, another title proved inevitable - though the youngsters were cut off in their prime in the tragic air disaster in Munich a year later in which many stars died
George Best and Bobby Charlton
1964-1965: Busby survives Munich, although he was injured, and goes on to rebuild the shattered club. Another survivor, Bobby Charlton (right), is key to that success, as is Northern Ireland's attacking sensation George Best
Manchester United win the title in 1993
1992-1993: Different generation, rebranded league, new boss. Six seasons into his reign, Alex Ferguson's hard work pays off as United win the inaugural Premier League to end a barren 26-year wait, with French striker Eric Cantona the catalyst
Manchester United celebrate winning the title
2010-2011: A sensational first season at the club from Javier Hernandez helps Ferguson to finally knock Liverpool "off their perch" as United eclipse their rivals' record of 18 titles by winning a 19th with a draw at Blackburn
Robin van Persie (left) celebrates his winner at Manchester City
2012-13: Robin van Persie marks an impressive first season at the club with some important goals, including the winner at reigning champions Manchester City, as United claim a record 20th title with four games remaining

Top Stories