PDC World Darts 2018: Michael van Gerwen & Gary Anderson reach last 16

Michael van Gerwen
Van Gerwen's average of 108.65 was the eighth highest in World Championship history
2018 PDC World Championship
Date: 14 December 2017 - 1 January 2018 Venue: Alexandra Palace, London
BBC coverage: Daily reports on the BBC Sport website and app, plus live text commentary of the final on 1 January

Defending champion Michael van Gerwen and former winner Gary Anderson reached the last 16 of the PDC World Championship in London.

Dutch top seed Van Gerwen beat James Wilson 4-0 to set up a meeting with Wales' Gerwyn Price.

Scotland's Anderson marked his 47th birthday with a 4-1 win over Singapore's Paul Lim, who missed double 12 for a nine-dart finish.

Lim threw the first nine-dart finish at the World Championship in 1990.

"I should have worn my high heels - maybe then I would have hit it," 63-year-old Lim said of his ninth dart in the third leg of the second set.

"I will have nightmares tonight because I just wanted to do it."

Anderson will face England's Steve West or Dutchman Jermaine Wattimena for a place in the quarter-finals.

"Paul is a gentleman and is still a classy dart player," said Anderson. "I have so much respect for him and if he had taken out that nine-darter, that would have been the best Christmas present for me too."

Van Gerwen was never troubled against 32nd seed Wilson, winning 12 consecutive legs in a match where he averaged 108.65.

"I will have a happy Christmas - everything is good," Van Gerwen said.

"You are here to win and the only thing in your mind should be to win. In this tournament they have to be at a different level to beat me."

Price beat Ian White 4-1 to book his place in the last 16.

Fifth seed Mensur Suljovic, the Champions League of Darts winner, beat Scotland's Robert Thornton 4-2, completing victory with a 121 checkout and a bullseye.

Austrian Suljovic will next face Belgium's Dimitri van Bergh, the 2007 youth champion who beat Dutchman Jan Dekker 4-2.

Dekker's compatriot Vincent van der Voort advanced by beating Steve Beaton 4-0.

Top Stories