Champions League of Darts: Phil Taylor beats Michael van Gerwen in final

By Gary SmeeBBC Sport
Highlights: Dominant Taylor wins in Cardiff

Phil Taylor overpowered world number one Michael van Gerwen for the second time in two days to win the inaugural Champions League of Darts in Cardiff.

Sixteen-time world champion Taylor, in superb form throughout the weekend, beat the Dutchman 11-5 in the final after Saturday's 10-4 group-stage win.

The 56-year-old from Stoke-on-Trent sealed the title and £100,000 winner's cheque with a 114 finish on double 17.

"I'm over the moon, just to get to the final," said the world number four.

"I was worried about the final with my energy levels. I was dropping down a bit, but I seemed to click at the right time."

In the semi-finals, Taylor, who only lost 19 legs in winning all five matches, ousted James Wade, while Van Gerwen beat Gary Anderson.

The moment Taylor won the Champions League

Taylor missed double 12 for a nine-dart finish in his final group game against Robert Thornton earlier on Sunday.

He also landed seven perfect darts in the final before slipping below the treble 19 as Van Gerwen had no answer to his heavy scoring and clinical finishing.

"I think Michael van Gerwen is brilliant," Taylor added.

"He's won everything there is but he's played too much and that showed during the final. He's played probably 12 days out of 14 and it's difficult."

Van Gerwen won three Players Championship events in the week leading up to the Champions League, which was screened live on BBC Sport.

"Phil Taylor was the better player this weekend and fair play to him," the 27-year-old said. "I let myself down this weekend. I'm disappointed with myself and I need to have a moment of rest.

"It's been a while since Phil won a big tournament, but I'll get him back. That's the way it goes and you can't win them all the time."

Taylor so close to a nine-dart finish

Semi-final results

Phil Taylor 11-3 James Wade

Michael van Gerwen 11-5 Gary Anderson

Sunday afternoon results

James Wade 10-5 Michael Smith

Gary Anderson 10-5 Adrian Lewis

Phil Taylor 10-2 Robert Thornton

Michael van Gerwen 10-5 Peter Wright

Top Stories

Elsewhere on the BBC