Tour of California: Adam Yates finishes second on stage six

Adam Yates during the Tour of California
Adam Yates is racing in California just weeks after fracturing his pelvis

Britain's Adam Yates finished second on the penultimate stage of the Tour of California to stay fourth overall.

Mitchelton-Scott rider Yates finished behind Team Sky's Colombian rider Egan Bernal, who won stage six to regain the lead of the race.

The stage covered seven categorised climbs over 196km from Folsom to South Lake Tahoe.

"It was a pretty tough stage, there was a lot of climbs and it's not so easy - even for the climbers," said Yates.

"It all came to life on the last climb and Sky did exactly as expected.

"It was tough, especially at the altitude, which makes it more difficult and it came down to every man for themselves."

Yates, whose twin brother Simon is leading the Giro d'Italia, is racing in California just weeks after fracturing his pelvis.

"We were up in Tahoe for a couple of weeks of training prior to the race and that definitely helped because we did a solid recon of the final climb and I knew what to expect," he added.

Stage six result:

1. Egan Bernal (Col/Team Sky) 5hrs 30mins 58secs

2. Adam Yates (GB/Mitchelton-Scott) +1min 28secs

3. Tao Geoghegan Hart (GB/Team Sky) +1min 30secs

4. Brandon McNulty (USA/Rally Cycling) +1min 33secs

5. Jai Hindley (Aus/Team Sunweb) +1min 38secs

6. Mathias Frank (Swi/AG2R La Mondiale) same time

7. Tejay Van Garderen (USA/BMC Racing Team)

8. Rafal Majika (Pol/Bora-Hansgrohe) +1min 45secs

9. Edward Ravasi (Ita/UAE Team Emirates) +1min 46secs

10. Daniel Martinez (Col/EF Education First-Drapac) +1min 50secs

Overall standings after stage six:

1. Egan Bernal (Col/Team Sky) 22hrs 26mins 40secs

2. Tejay Van Garderen (USA/BMC Racing Team) +1min 25secs

3. Daniel Martínez (Col/EF Education First-Drapac) 2mins 14secs

4. Adam Yates (GB/Mitchelton-Scott) 2mins 16secs

5. Tao Geoghegan Hart (GB/Team Sky) 2mins 28secs

6. Rafal Majka (Pol/Bora-Hansgrohe) 3mins 01secs

7. Brandon McNulty (USA/Rally Cycling) 3mins 28secs

8. Laurens De Plus (Bel/Quick-Step Floors) 3mins 50secs

9. Kristijan Durasek (Cro/UAE Team Emirates) 3mins 59secs

10. Mathias Frank (Swi/AG2R La Mondiale) 4mins 01secs

Top Stories