Tour de Romandie: Chris Froome fifth on stage one as Albasini wins sprint

Chris Froome
Chris Froome (second left) won the Tour de Romandie in 2013 and 2014

Britain's Chris Froome came fifth as Orica-Scott rider Michael Albasini won a sprint finish in heavy rain on stage one of the Tour de Romandie.

Two-time champion Froome remains 29 seconds behind prologue winner Fabio Felline, who retains the yellow jersey.

But Britain's Alex Dowsett, who was second, fell down the classifications in Switzerland after dropping away on the final climb to Champery.

Albasini crossed ahead of Diego Ulissi and Jesus Herrada on the 172km course.

Britain's Simon Yates finished in 28th place for Orica-Scott, leaving him 16th in the overall standings, 18 seconds off the pace.

The six-day five-stage race is an early indicator of form leading towards July's Tour de France, which Team Sky rider Froome will be bidding to win for a fourth time - and third in succession.

Thursday's second stage is a hilly 161.3km race from Champery to Bulle.

Tour de Romandie stage one result:

1. Michael Albasini (Swi/Orica) 4hrs 33mins 10secs

2. Diego Ulissi (Ita/UAE Team Emirates) Same time

3. Jesus Herrada (Spa/Movistar)

4. Natnael Berhane (Eri/imension Data)

5. Chris Froome (GB/Team Sky)

6. Pello Bilbao (Spa/Astana)

7. Wilco Kelderman (Ned/Sunweb)

8. David De La Cruz (Spa/Quick-Step)

9. Richard Carapaz (Ecu/Movistar)

10. Pierre Latour (Fra/AG2R)

Overall classification after Stage one:

1. Fabio Felline (Ita/Trek) 4hrs 39mins 07secs

2. Maximilian Schachmann (Ger/Quick-Step) +8secs

3. Jesus Herrada (Spa/Movistar) Same time

4. Primoz Roglic (Svn/LottoNL) +9secs

5. Ion Izagirre (Spa/Bahrain) +12secs

6. Bob Jungels (Lux/Quick-Step) Same time

7. Jose Goncalves (Por/Katusha) +13secs

8. Ruben Fernandez (Spa/Movistar) Same time

9. Michael Albasini (Swi/Orica) +14secs

10. Jonathan Castroviejo (Spa/Movistar) Same time

Selected others:

16. Simon Yates (GB/Orica) +18secs

39. Chris Froome (GB/Team Sky) +29secs

59. Peter Kennaugh (GB/Team Sky) +53secs

88 Alex Dowsett (GB/Team Sky) +4mins 59secs