Eneco Tour: Dutch rider Niki Terpstra secures title with final-stage second place

Oliver Naesen, Niki Terpstra and Peter Sagan
Dutch rider Niki Terpstra (centre) won the Paris-Roubaix in 2014

Dutch rider Niki Terpstra won the Eneco Tour title after finishing second to Norway's Edvald Boasson Hagen in Sunday's seventh and final stage.

The Etixx cyclist was fifth going into the race, almost half-a-minute behind the overall leader Rohan Dennis.

However, the Australian BMC rider dropped out of contention following a crash 48km into the stage.

"The plan was to attack to put BMC and Rohan Dennis in difficulty, and it worked perfectly," Terpstra, 32, said.

Boasson Hagen beat Terpstra and Belgium's Oliver Naesen in a sprint finish to win the 197.8km stage between Bornem and Grammont.

Dutch rider Tom Dumoulin was fourth on the day, followed by Olympic champion Greg Van Avermaet, of Belgium, and world title holder Peter Sagan, of Slovakia.

Stage seven result

1 Edvald Boasson Hagen (Nor/Dimension Data) 4hrs 33mins 36secs

2 Niki Terpstra (Ned/Etixx Quick-Step) +01sec

3 Oliver Naesen (Bel/IAM Cycling) same time

4 Tom Dumoulin (Ned/Team Giant-Alpecin) +42secs

5 Greg Van Avermaet (Bel/BMC Racing) same time

Final standings

1. Niki Terpstra (Ned/Etixx Quick-Step) 22hrs 43mins 26secs

2. Oliver Naesen (Bel/IAM Cycling) +31secs

3. Peter Sagan (Svk/Tinkoff) +1min 00secs

4. Greg Van Avermaet (Bel/BMC Racing) +1min 02secs

5. Jos van Emden (Ned/LottoNL) +1min 03secs

Top Stories