Road World Championships 2016: Schedule, BBC TV coverage and Great Britain squad

Mark Cavendish and Lizzie Deignan
Mark Cavendish and Lizzie Deignan will be seeking to win the elite road races
UCI World Road Championships 2016
Host: Doha, Qatar Dates: 9-16 October
Coverage: Live coverage of the elite men's and women's time trials and road races on BBC TV, Red Button, online and BBC Sport app.

Mark Cavendish and Lizzie Deignan have been selected in Great Britain's team for the UCI Road World Championships.

Cavendish, who won omnium silver at Rio 2016, will be joined by Steve Cummings, Ian Stannard and Geraint Thomas in the men's road race on 16 October in Doha.

The Manxman won the world title in 2011 and is among the favourites for victory with a sprint finish expected.

Reigning champion Deignan (nee Armitstead) is aiming to become the first Briton to defend the world title.

Iain Dyer, head coach for British Cycling, said: "We have picked strong squads for the races we are entering.

"In the men's race, Mark is one of the clear favourites given the nature of the course and he will have a strong team around him.

"In the women's squad, we've got some real high-calibre contenders with a couple of riders having the capability to be competitive in a sprint finish scenario."

The nine-man men's squad will race 257.5km (160 miles), while the women's eight-strong team takes on a 134.5km (83.7 miles) course.

Five-time British time trial champion Alex Dowsett, who also won Commonwealth Games gold at Glasgow 2014, will take on the world's best against the clock over 40km on Wednesday, 12 October.

National road race champion Hannah Barnes will double-up in Doha, racing in the women's 28.9km time trial and road race.

National time trial champion Hayley Simmonds also takes on the clock in Qatar.

Great Britain squad

Elite menElite womenUnder-23 men
Adam BlytheAlice BarnesGabriel Cullaigh
Mark CavendishHannah BarnesScott Davies
Stephen CummingsLizzie DeignanJon Dibben
Alex DowsettDani KingChris Latham
Dan McLayLaura MasseyTao Geoghegan Hart
Luke RoweAnnasley ParkJames Shaw
Ian StannardAbby-Mae Parkinson
Ben SwiftEileen Roe
Geraint ThomasHayley Simmonds
Scott Thwaites

Schedule (all times BST)

Sunday, 9 October

Women's team time trial - won by Boels-Dolmans

Men's team time trial - won by Etixx-Quick Step

Monday, 10 October

Men's under-23 individual time trial

Tuesday, 11 October

Women's elite individual time trial

Watch live from 11:05-14:55 on BBC Red Button.

Wednesday, 12 October

Men's elite individual time trial

Watch live from 11:35-14:30 on BBC Red Button.

Thursday, 13 October

Men's under-23 road race

Saturday, 15 October

Women's elite road race

Watch live from 10:35-14:45 on BBC Red Button with highlights from 14:30-16:30 on BBC One.

Britain's Lizzie Deignan (better known by her maiden name of Armitstead) is the defending champion but the flat 134.5km course is unlikely to play to her strengths. Commentary comes from Simon Brotherton and Rochelle Gilmore.

Sunday, 16 October

Men's elite road race

Watch live from 08:20-15:00 on BBC Red Button with highlights from 14:30-17:00 on BBC Two.

Britain's Mark Cavendish has had a memorable season, collecting four stage wins at the Tour de France, where he also wore the leader's yellow jersey for the first time, before claiming Olympic silver on the track in Rio.

Can he round off his 2016 in style by reclaiming the road race rainbow jersey that he won in 2011? Commentary comes from Simon Brotherton and David Millar.

Top Stories