Vuelta a Espana: Chris Froome remains over three minutes behind Nairo Quintana

Chris Froome
Froome won the Tour de France and Olympic time-trial bronze earlier this year

Chris Froome remains over three minutes behind race leader Nairo Quintana in the Vuelta a Espana as Luxemburg's Jean-Pierre Drucker won stage 16.

BMC's Drucker out-sprinted German Rudiger Selig to win the 156.4km stage from Alcaniz to Peniscola.

Team Sky rider Froome finished in the peloton, alongside Quintana, and stays three minutes 37 seconds adrift.

A win for the Briton would make him the first to win the Tour de France and Vuelta in the same season for 38 years.

The race, the third Grand Tour of the season, has a rest day on Tuesday before resuming on Wednesday with five stages remaining.

Froome will expect to gain time on Colombian Quintana in Stage 19's individual time trial on Friday, as he bids to win his first Vuelta a Espana.

Stage 16 result:

1. Jempy Drucker (Lux/BMC) 3hrs 21mins 18secs

2. Rudiger Selig (Ger/BORA) same time

3. Nikias Arndt (Ger/Giant)

4. Gianni Meersman (Bel/Etixx-Quick-Step)

5. Lorrenzo Manzin (Fra/FDJ)

6. Jonas Van Genechten (Bel/IAM Cycling)

7. Kristian Sbaragli (Ita/Dimension Data)

8. Kiel Reijnen (US/Trek)

9. Tosh Van der Sande (Bel/Lotto)

10. Jhonatan Restrepo (Col/Katusha)

General classification after stage 16:

1. Nairo Quintana (Col/Movistar) 64hrs 57mins 27secs

2. Chris Froome (GB/Team Sky) +3mins 37secs

3. Esteban Chaves (Col/Orica) +3mins 57secs

4. Alberto Contador (Spa/Tinkoff) +4mins 02secs

5. Simon Yates (GB/Orica)+5mins 07secs

6. Samuel Sanchez (Spa/BMC) +6mins 12secs

7. Andrew Talansky (US/Cannondale) +6mins 43secs

8. Davide Formolo (Ita/Cannondale) +7mins 17secs

9. David De La Cruz (Spa/Etixx-Quick-Step)+7mins 23secs

10. Michele Scarponi (Ita/Astana) +7mins 39secs

Top Stories