Tour of Britain: Rio medallists Wiggins and Cavendish among 2016 riders

Tour of Britain
The Tour of Britain finishes in London on 11 September
Tour of Britain 2016
Starts: 4 September in Glasgow Ends: 11 September in London
Race: Eight stages Total Distance: 1308.5km (813 miles)

Sir Bradley Wiggins and Mark Cavendish have been confirmed among 126 riders for the 2016 Tour of Britain, which begins in Glasgow on Sunday.

Wiggins and Cavendish are among eight medallists from the 2016 Olympic Games to be involved, along with Dutch road race silver medallist Tom Dumoulin.

Owain Doull, who won team pursuit gold with GB in Rio and was third in the 2015 Tour of Britain, will also race.

The eight-day event concludes in London on 11 September.

"The field for this year's Tour of Britain is without parallel, with star quality wherever you look among the teams," said race director Mick Bennett.

Star quality

Thirty-time Tour de France stage winner Cavendish will make his first appearance since winning omnium silver at the Olympics, in a field that also features omnium gold medallist and Team Sky rider Elia Viviani of Italy, as well as the Manxman's sprint rival Andre Greipel of Germany.

Wiggins is joined by Dylan van Baarle as former Tour of Britain winners in the field.

A total of 21 teams will take part, including 11 UCI World Tour outfits, the highest number to have competed in Britain since the 2014 Tour de France Grand Depart.

Edvald Boasson Hagen
Norway's Edvald Boasson Hagen won the 2015 Tour of Britain

World championship pedigree

Seven British teams will compete, led by Team Sky and also including Team Wiggins and a Great Britain national team.

The rider list also includes six current national road race champions, led by British champion Adam Blythe, who will ride for Great Britain.

There are also six national time trial champions, including former UCI world hour record holders Alex Dowsett and Rohan Dennis and three-time world time trial champion Tony Martin.

2016 Tour of Britain
4 September: Stage one, Glasgow to Castle Douglas
5 September: Stage two, Carlisle to Kendal
6 September: Stage three, Congleton to Tatton Park, Knutsford
7 September: Stage four, Denbigh to Builth Wells
8 September: Stage five, Aberdare to Bath
9 September: Stage six, Sidmouth to Haytor, Dartmoor
10 September: Stage seven, Bristol (individual time trial & circuit race)
11 September: Stage eight, London

Top Stories