Vuelta a Espana: Chris Froome third as Nairo Quintana wins stage 10

Chris Froome
Chris Froome fought all the way up the final climb on stage 10 but is now 58 seconds behind overall leader Nairo Quintana

Chris Froome moved back into third in the Vuelta but lost more ground on the red jersey as Nairo Quintana won stage 10 to regain the overall lead.

Quintana attacked early on the final climb and went on to win by 24 seconds.

Froome was dropped from the leading group by the initial attack, but set his own pace up the mountain and relentlessly reeled in all bar two of the other riders to finish third.

Team Sky rider Froome, 31, is now 58 seconds behind Quintana overall.

The Colombian's team-mate Alejandro Valverde lies a second ahead of the Briton in second place in the overall standings, while overnight leader David de la Cruz fell back to seventh overall.

Froome is aiming to become the first man in 38 years to win the Vuelta and Tour de France in the same season.

Stage 10 result:

1. Nairo Quintana (Col/Movistar) 4hrs 50mins 31secs

2. Robert Gesink (Ned/Lotto NL-Jumbo) +24secs

3. Chris Froome (GB/Team Sky) +25secs

4. Omar Fraile (Spa/Dimension Data) +28secs

5. Alejandro Valverde (Spa/Movistar) +28secs

6. Michele Scarponi (Ita/Astana) +28secs

7. Esteban Chaves (Col/Orica Bike Exchange) +1min 2secs

8. Alberto Contador (Spa/Tinkoff) +1min 5secs

9. Simon Yates (GB/Orica Bike Exchange) +1min 9secs

10. Fabio Felline (Ita/Trek-Segafredo) +1min 11secs

General classification after stage 10:

1. Nairo Quintana (Col/Movistar) 38hrs 37mins 07secs

2. Alejandro Valverde (Spa/Movistar) +57secs

3. Chris Froome (GB/Team Sky) +58secs

4. Esteban Chaves (Col/Orica Bike Exchange) +2mins 9secs

5. Alberto Contador (Spa/Tinkoff) +2mins 54secs

6. Leopold Konig (Cze/Team Sky) +2mins 57secs

7. David de la Cruz (Spa/Etix-Quick Step) +3mins 3secs

8. Simon Yates (GB/Orica Bike Exchange) +3mins 6secs

9. Michele Scarponi (Ita/Astana) +3mins 14secs

10. Samuel Sanchez (Spa/BMC) +3mins 20secs