Vuelta a Espana: GB's Simon Yates wins stage six - first Grand Tour victory

Simon Yates
Simon Yates missed the Tour de France because of his suspension

Britain's Simon Yates won stage six of the Vuelta a Espana to claim his first Grand Tour stage victory.

The Orica Bike-Exchange rider, 24, attacked late on to win by 20 seconds, with Spaniard Luis-Leon Sanchez second and Italian Fabio Felline third on the 163.2km stage to Ribeira Sacra.

Yates' twin brother Adam was the first British winner of the Tour de France's white jersey this year.

Compatriot Chris Froome finished in the peloton to stay third overall.

He remains 32 seconds behind race leader Colombian Darwin Atapuma of BMC, with Spaniard Alejandro Valverde 28 seconds adrift in second.

Simon Yates, who returned from a four-month drugs ban in July after his team made an "administrative error" over an asthma inhaler, moved into 10th in the general classification, one minute 28 seconds behind Atapuma.

Yates said: "There were lots of twists and turns but I managed to come down [the descent] perfectly and I timed my attack to perfection.

"We really set it up well and I managed to take the opportunity and finish.

"It wasn't planned. We just tried to make it a hard race and I am really happy."

Stage six result:

1. Simon Yates (GB/Orica Bike-Exchange) 4hrs 5mins

2. Luis-Leon Sanchez Gil (Spa/Astana) +20secs

3. Fabio Felline (Ita/Trek-Segafredo) +22secs

4. Ben Hermans (Bel/BMC)

5. Kenny Elissonde (Rus/FDJ)

6. Daniel Moreno Fernandez (Spa/Movistar)

7. Mathias Frank (Swi/IAM Cycling)

8. Alejandro Valverde (Spa/Movistar) +29secs

9. Romain Hardy (Fra/Cofidis) same time

10. Simon Clarke (Aus/Cannondale)

General classification after stage six:

1. Darwin Atapuma (Col/BMC) 21hrs 45mins 21secs

2. Alejandro Valverde (Spa/Movistar) +28secs

3 Chris Froome (GB/Team Sky) +32secs

4. Nairo Quintana (Col/Movistar) +38secs

5. Esteban Chaves (Col/Orica) same time

6. Samuel Sanchez Gonzalez (Spa/BMC) +1min 7secs

7. Leopold Konig (Cze/Team Sky) +1min 12secs

8. Peter Kennaugh (GB/Team Sky) +1min 14secs

9. Gianluca Brambilla (Ita/Etixx-Quick-Step) 1min 22secs

10. Simon Yates (GB/Orica Bike-Exchange) 1min 28secs

Top Stories