Volta a Catalunya: Nairo Quintana wins Spanish race

Nairo Quintana
Nairo Quintana was second to Chris Froome at last year's Tour de France

Colombia's Nairo Quintana won the Volta a Catalunya after Alexey Tsatevich took the final stage in Barcelona on Sunday.

Tsatevich won a two-man sprint but an intriguing race for the overall victory was unfolding behind.

Britain's Chris Froome, who started the day in eighth place, 46 seconds adrift, tried to attack and briefly went clear.

However, he was caught as Quintana won by seven seconds from Alberto Contador in a race that featured the majority of this year's Tour de France contenders.

Froome, Quintana and Contador all finished together, 14 seconds behind Katusha rider Tsatevich, who outsprinted Primoz Roglic of the LottoNL team.

Ireland's Dan Martin, the 2013 winner, finished third overall, 17 seconds behind Quintana and on the same time as defending champion Richie Porte of Australia.

Quintana, who took the lead at the end of the fourth stage of the week-long race in Spain, said: "There's a lot of emotion to have been able to beat my rivals. It gives me confidence that we are working well."

Final Classification

1. Nairo Quintana (Col/Movistar) 30hrs 50mins 19secs

2. Alberto Contador (Spa/Tinkoff) +7secs

3. Daniel Martin (Ire/Etixx - Quick-Step) +17secs

4. Richie Porte (Aus/BMC Racing) Same time

5. Tejay van Garderen (US/BMC Racing) +27secs

6. Romain Bardet (Fra/AG2R) +31secs

7. Ilnur Zakarin (Rus/Katusha) +42secs

8. Chris Froome (GB/Team Sky) +46secs

9. Hugh Carthy (GB/Caja Rural) +1min 01secs

10. Rigoberto Uran (Col/Cannondale) +1min 16secs

Top Stories