Team Sky's Woet Poels wins Tour of Britain stage five

Team Sky's Woet Poels
Poels' victory in the 2010 race was only the second stage win of his professional career

Team Sky's Wout Poels sprinted past Norway's Edvald Boasson Hagen in the final 100m to win the fifth stage of the Tour of Britain in Cumbria.

Boasson Hagen's consolation at having his late break reeled in was claiming the overall race leader's yellow jersey from Juan Jose Lobato.

His advantage is just one second from Dutchman Poels, who recorded Team Sky's third win of the race.

"It was good teamwork. He was strong but it was good to win," said Poels.

"I won here in 2010, so I am happy to get another one. Hopefully we can take the jersey but it will be difficult."

The 27-year-old won in a time of four hours, 12 minutes and 22 seconds - two seconds ahead of former champion Boasson Hagen, who now rides for MTN-Qhubeka but is formerly of Team Sky

Lobato was unable to keep pace on the climb and he finished way down in 89th, tumbling to 41st overall.

Team Wiggins' Owain Doull was the highest-placed Briton on stage five, finishing 25 seconds back in 11th place, and he is also leading the home charge in the general classification in fifth.

Stage 5 result

1. Wouter Poels (Ned/Team Sky) 4hrs 12mins 22secs,

2. Edvald Boasson Hagen (Nor/MTN-Qhubeka +2secs,

3. Benat Intxausti (Spa/Movistar Team) +17secs,

4. Zdenek Stybar (Cze/Etixx-Quick-Step) +18secs,

5. Rasmus Guldhammer (Den/Cult Energy Pro Cycling) same time

6. Steven Kruijswijk (Ned/Team LottoNL-Jumbo) same time

7. Xandro Meurisse (Bel/An Post-Chainreaction) same time

8. Chris Anker Sorensen (Den/Tinkoff-Saxo) same time

9. Ruben Fernandez (Spa/Movistar) same time

10. Dylan Teuns (Bel/BMC Racing Team) same time

General classification

1. Edvald Boasson Hagen (Nor/MTN-Qhubeka) 23hrs 2mins 36secs,

2. Wouter Poels (Ned/Team Sky) at 1sec,

3. Rasmus Guldhammer (Den/Cult Energy Pro Cycling) +30secs,

4. Benat Intxausti (Spa/Movistar) +33ses,

5. Owain Doull (GB/Team Wiggins) +37secs,

6. Dylan Teuns (Bel/BMC Racing Team) +38secs,

7. Zdenek Stybar (Cze/Etixx-Quick-Step) same time

8. Ruben Fernandez (Spa/Movistar) same time

9. Steven Kruijswijk (Ned/Team LottoNL-Jumbo) same time

10. Chris Anker Sorensen (Den/Tinkoff-Saxo) same time

Selected Others:

69. Mark Cavendish (GB/Etixx-Quick Step) at 32mins 10secs

95. Bradley Wiggins (GB/Team WIGGINS) at 41mins 00secs