Vuelta a Espana: Allesandro De Marchi wins 14th stage

Allesandro De Marchi
Allesandro De Marchi earned his second stage win in the Vuelta a Espana

Italy's Alessandro De Marchi powered clear from a breakaway to claim victory in the mist in the mountainous 14th stage of the Vuelta a Espana.

The 29-year-old BMC rider took control with 1.5km remaining of the 215km stage between Vitoria and the summit of Alto Campoo Fuente del Chivo.

Team Sky's Salvatore Puccio was 21 seconds adrift, with Movistar's Joaquin Rojas third.

Italian Fabio Aru retains the overall lead from Spain's Joaquim Rodriguez.

Astana's Aru, 25, finished ninth in the stage to stay 26 seconds ahead with Netherlands' Tom Dumoulin (Giant) 49 seconds back in third.

Four riders pulled out of the race citing fatigue or injury either before or during the 14th stage, taking the total to 31 so far in this year's Vuelta.

Two-time Tour de France winner Chris Froome pulled out with a fractured a bone in his foot following a crash during the 11th stage.

The 21-stage Grand Tour finishes in Madrid on 13 September.

Stage 14 result:

1. Alessandro De Marchi (Ita/BMC Racing) 5 hrs 43mins 12secs

2. Salvatore Puccio (Ita/Team Sky) +21"

3. Jose Joaquin Rojas (Spa/Movistar) +32"

4. Mikael Cherel (Fra/AG2R) +38"

5. Carlos Quintero (Col/Colombia) +1:00"

6. Nairo Quintana (Col/Movistar) +3:32"

7. Joaquim Rodriguez (Spa/Katusha) +3:38"

8. Esteban Chaves (Col/Orica) +3:39"

9. Fabio Aru (Ita/Astana)

10. Rafal Majka (Pol/Tinkoff - Saxo) +3:44"

General classification after stage 14:

1. Fabio Aru (Ita/Astana) 57 hrs 20mins 10secs

2. Joaquim Rodriguez (Spa/Katusha) +26"

3. Tom Dumoulin (Ned/Giant) +49"

4. Esteban Chaves (Col/Orica) +1:29"

5. Rafal Majka (Pol/Tinkoff - Saxo) +1:33"

6. Mikel Nieve (Spa/Team Sky) +2:10"

7. Alejandro Valverde (Spa/Movistar) +2:11"

8. Daniel Moreno (Spa/Katusha) +2:13"

9. Nairo Quintana (Col/Movistar) +3:00"

10. Romain Sicard (Fra/Europcar) +3:39"

Top Stories