Bradley Wiggins leads Tour of California after time trial win

Sir Bradley Wiggins
Sir Bradley Wiggins

Sir Bradley Wiggins leads the Tour of California after winning the individual time trial on stage two.

The 34-year-old Briton, who rides for Team Sky, covered the 20.3km to Folsom in 23 minutes 18 seconds.

It gave the 2012 Tour de France winner a 44-second advantage over Australia's Rohan Dennis, riding for Garmin, in second place.

Wiggins took the overall race lead from fellow Briton Mark Cavendish, who had sprinted to victory on stage one.

Omega Pharma-QuickStep rider Cavendish may have lost the yellow jersey to Wiggins, but he traded it for green and leads Giant Shimano's German sprinter John Degenkolb by three points.

Wiggins was delighted with victory in the searing heat after pin-pointing California as one of the key races of his season.

"I didn't plan to have taken as much time as that but it was a great course for me and I'd prepared well for it," he said.

"I've said all year that Paris-Roubaix and heading into California were my goals.

"I've worked hard towards this and, on a day like today, it all clicks into place and comes together as a true test of where you're at."

Stage three of the eight-day race starts in San Jose on Tuesday and finishes 174.5km later with a tough summit finish on Mount Diablo. Sky have ridden the climb in training and know what to expect.

Wiggins is looking to maintain his form when the race heads to the hills, in what will be a thorough examination of his credentials for this year's Tour de France.

"I've been here for a few weeks now and the real stuff starts tomorrow," Wiggins added. "I'm in a good position and I'm climbing well.

"It's going to be quite a long week for the boys and it's going to get a lot hotter these next few days. But it's a great position to be in."

Stage two:

1. Bradley Wiggins (GB/Sky) 23mins 18secs

2. Rohan Dennis (Aus/Garmin) +44secs

3. Taylor Phinney (USA/BMC) +52secs

4. Eloy Teruel (Spa/Jamis-Hagens) +1min 8secs

5. Jesse Sergent (NZl/TrekNew Zealand) +1min 11secs


1. Bradley Wiggins (GB/Sky) 5hrs 7mins 35secs.

2. Rohan Dennis (Aus/Garmin) +44secs

3. Taylor Phinney (USA/BMC) +52secs

4. Eloy Tereul (Spa/Jamis-Hagens) +1min 8secs

5. Jesse Sergent (NZl/Trek) +1min 11secs

Top Stories