Tour de France 2011: How the Tour unfolded

Mark Cavendish
Cavendish was the first British winner of the green jersey with five stage wins

After three gruelling weeks, Cadel Evans won the 98th Tour de France after covering 3,430.5km (2132 miles). The race was divided up into 21 stages - 10 flat, six mountain with four summit finishes, three "medium mountain", just one individual time trial and one team time trial.

Luxembourg's Andy Schleck was runner up for the third year in a row, while three-time champion Alberto Contador finished fifth.

British rider Mark Cavendish won the green jersey after picking up five stage wins, Samuel Sanchez was named king of the mountains and Pierre Rolland took the white jersey.

Stage by stage

Stage 1: Passage du Gois La Barre-de-Monts - Mont des Alouettes (191.5km)

Winner: Philippe Gilbert - Report

Stage 2: Team time trial - Les Essarts (23km)

Winner: Garmin-Cervelo - Report

Stage 3: Olonne-sur-Mer - Redon (198km)

Winner: Tyler Farrar - Report

Stage 4: Lorient - Mur de Bretagne (172.5km)

Winner: Cadel Evans -

Stage 5: Carhaix - Cap Frehel (164.5km)

Winner: Mark Cavendish - Report

Stage 6: Dinan - Lisieux (226.5km)

Winner: Edvald Boasson Hagen - Report

Stage 7: Le Mans - Chateauroux (218km)

Winner: Mark Cavendish -

Stage 8: Aigurande - Super-Besse Sancy (189km)

Winner: Rui da Costa -

Stage 9: Issoire - Saint-Flour (208km)

Winner: Luis-Leon Sanchez -

Stage 10: Aurillac - Carmaux (158km)

Winner: Andre Greipel -

Stage 11: Blaye-les-Mines - Lavaur (167.5km)

Winner: Mark Cavendish -

Stage 12: Cugnaux - Luz-Ardiden (211km)

Winner: Samuel Sanchez - Report

Stage 13: Pau - Lourdes (152.5km)

Winner: Thor Hushovd - Report

Stage 14: Saint-Gaudens - Plateau de Beille (168.5km)

Winner: Jelle Vanendert - Report

Stage 15: Limoux - Montpellier (192.5km)

Winner: Mark Cavendish - Report

Stage 16: Saint-Paul-Troix-Chateaux - Gap (162.5km)

Winner: Thor Hushovd - Report

Stage 17: Gap - Pinerolo (179km)

Winner: Edvald Boasson Hagen -

Stage 18: Pinerolo - Galibier Serre-Chavalier (200.5km)

Winner: Andy Schleck - Report

Stage 19: Modane - Alpe d'Huez (109.5km)

Winner: Pierre Rolland - Report

Stage 20: Individual time trial - Grenoble (42.5km)

Winner: Tony Martin - Report

Stage 21: Creteil - Paris Champs Elysees (95km)

Winner: Mark Cavendish -