Weekend club cricket results in NI

Iftikhar Hussain hit 56 as Brigade ended Donemana's six-year reign as North West Senior Cup champions
Iftikhar Hussain's innings of 56 helped Brigade ends Donemana's hopes of a seventh straight North West Senior Cup triumph

Sunday 1 July

North West Senior Cup

Donemana's six-year record winning run in the North West Senior Cup came to an end when they lost to Brigade by four wickets in the semi-final. The other finalists are Eglinton who squeezed through against Newbuildings in a dramatic low-scoring tie.

Donemana started favourites especially after Brigade were dismissed for a miserable 92 when they lost in the league to Bready on Saturday.

It was a hesitant start for the home side but they totalled 286-8 43 runs less than their formidable score against Strabane a day earlier.

Brigade with David Barr accumulating 76 clinched Brigade's win in the 49th over.

Donemana v Brigade

Donemana 286-8 R Dougherty 71 no, A McBrine 68, M Simpson 2-31

Brigade 292-6 D Barr 76, I Hussain 56, A McDonnell 33, A McBrine 2-29

Brigade won by four wickets

Newbuildings v Eglinton

Newbuildings 80 (15.3 overs) M Hannah 30 no, S Thompson 4-23

Eglinton 83-9 (15.4 overs) S Thompson 31

Eglinton won by one wicket

Saturday 30 June

NCU Challenge Cup

Holders CSNI and Waringston have reached the final of the NCU Challenge Cup with victories over Instonians and CIYMS respectively. The innings of the afternoon came from Waringstown's Shaheen Khan who brought up his century from 80 balls as Waringston won with the final ball of the game. CSNI set Instonians a formidable total and in reply the home were dismissed 72 runs short in the 45th over.

Instonians v CSNI

CSNI 278-9 J Kennedy 41; J Magee 4-51

Instonians 206 A White 59

CSNI won by 72 runs

CIYMS v Waringstown

CIYMS 290-5 C Dougherty 75, M McGillivray 63

Waringstown 291-9 S Khan 121, D Dennison 41

Waringstown won by one wicket

NCU Premier League

Muckamore v Carrickfergus

Carrickfergus 198-7 I Parkhill 50

Muckamore 199-7

Muckamore won by three wickets

North West Premier League

Eglinton v Coleraine

Eglinton 92 S Campbell 5-11

Coleraine 96-3 T Chopra 48 no, S Campbell 32

Coleraine won by seven wickets

Fox Lodge v Ardmore

Fox Lodge 200 C Tshiki 71

Ardmore 187 D Curry 72; C Tshiki 5-20

Fox Lodge won by 13 runs

Bready v Brigade

Brigade 92 C Young 4-13, D Scanlon 3-15

Bready 93-6 A Austin 45 no

Bready won by four wickets

Strabane v Donemana

Donemana 329-6 C McClintock 124, M Cooray 105

Strabane 164 P Gillespie 66; W McBrine 3-20

Donemana won by 165 runs

Top Stories