England seek Women's World Twenty20 boost against South Africa and New Zealand in tri-series

Media playback is not supported on this device

England need more T20 experience - Robinson
Women's T20 tri-series - England v South Africa & New Zealand
Venues: Taunton, Bristol, Chelmsford Dates: 20 June - 1 July
Coverage: Ball-by-ball Test Match Special commentary on BBC Radio 5 live sports extra and BBC Sport website & app; live text commentary and in-play highlights on BBC Sport website & app

England will use the Twenty20 tri-series against South Africa and New Zealand as vital practice before the Women's World Twenty20 in November, says coach Mark Robinson.

The 50-over World Cup winners face South Africa at Taunton on Wednesday.

England have added left-arm seamer Tash Farrant to the squad which just beat the Proteas 2-1 in a one-day series.

"We have had a heavy quota of 50-over cricket so the more Twenty20 we play the better," Robinson told BBC Sport.

"We want to win, you don't turn up to anything not wanting to win, but we have to start and fine tune what is our team."

Opener Lauren Winfield, who did not play in any of the one-dayers against South Africa, is not included for Wednesday - but she and pace bowler Katie George will join the squad for Saturday's double-header, also at Taunton, when England will play both teams.

"We need to have that pool of players that we can call on; we need all the players that know they can come in and do different roles," added Robinson.

"We need different people who can open, different people who can bat at five and six and we feel we are getting there now."

The tri-series is structured so that South Africa play both the other teams on Wednesday, England play both on Saturday, and New Zealand's double-header is on Thursday, 28 June - with the final taking place on 1 July.

The Women's World Twenty20 then takes place in the West Indies from 2-25 November.

England squad: Heather Knight (Berkshire, capt), Tammy Beaumont (Kent), Katherine Brunt (Yorkshire), Sophie Ecclestone (Lancashire), Georgia Elwiss (Sussex), Tash Farrant (Kent), Jenny Gunn (Warwickshire), Danielle Hazell (Yorkshire), Amy Jones (Warwickshire, wk), Laura Marsh (Kent), Anya Shrubsole (Somerset), Nat Sciver (Surrey), Sarah Taylor (Sussex, wk), Danni Wyatt (Sussex). To join on 23 June: Katie George (Hampshire), Lauren Winfield (Yorkshire)

Full tri-series schedule


20 South Africa v New Zealand, Taunton (13:00 BST)

20 England v South Africa, Taunton (17:40 BST)

23 England v South Africa, Taunton (13:00 BST)

23 England v New Zealand, Taunton (17:40 BST)

28 South Africa v New Zealand, Bristol (13:00 BST)

28 England v New Zealand, Bristol (17:40 BST)


1 Final, Chelmsford (15:00 BST)

Top Stories