No Cricket Australia contracts for Steve Smith, David Warner & Cameron Bancroft

Media playback is not supported on this device

Tearful Warner: I may never play for Australia again

Steve Smith, David Warner and Cameron Bancroft have not been awarded contracts by Cricket Australia (CA) for the forthcoming season following their parts in the ball-tampering scandal.

Captain Smith and vice-skipper Warner were given year-long bans by CA and batsman Bancroft a nine-month suspension.

CA says contracts are based on "player performances over the past 12 months".

It adds there is "a focus on white-ball cricket" before the 2019 World Cup.

"This period is set to include a significant amount of limited-overs cricket, including the ICC Cricket World Cup 2019 in England and Wales," national selector Trevor Hohns said.

"For that reason, there has been a bit of a focus in this contracting period on white-ball cricket, as we look ahead to trying to win back-to-back World Cups."

Five of the 20-strong list have been awarded CA contracts for the first time - fast bowlers Jhye Richardson, Kane Richardson and Andrew Tye, all-rounder Marcus Stoinis and wicket-keeper Alex Carey.

Media playback is not supported on this device

Watch: Bancroft and Smith admit ball-tampering plan

Top Stories