India in record 320 stand as Ireland beaten in women's quadrangular series

Poonam Rout hit 109 for India before retiring hurt
Poonam Raut retired hurt on 109 shortly after Deepti Sharma's departure
Women's quadrangular series, Potchefstroom:
India 358-2 (50 overs): Sharma 188, Raut 109 (retired hurt)
Ireland 109 (40 overs): Waldron 35, Gray 26; Gayakwad 4-18, Pandey 3-16
India won by 249 runs
Scorecard (external site)

Openers Deepti Sharma and Poonam Raut shared a record stand of 320 as India's women routed Ireland by 249 runs in their quadrangular one-day international series in South Africa.

It smashed the previous women's ODI record of 268 set by England in 2008.

Sharma was eventually bowled for 188 from 160 balls while Raut retired hurt on 109 as India finished on 358-2.

Ireland were dismissed for 109 in 40 overs, with Mary Waldron top-scoring on 35 while Jennifer Gray added 26.

Left-arm spinner Rajeshwari Gayakwad took 4-18, supported by Shikha Pandey (3-16) as the under-strength Irish suffered a fourth straight defeat in Potchefstroom.

Record partnerships in women's one-day internationals
320 - Deepti Sharma & Poonam Raut (1st wkt), India v Ireland, Potchefstroom, 2017
268 - Sarah Taylor & Caroline Atkins (1st wkt), England v South Africa, Lord's, 2008
262 - Haidee Tiffen & Suzie Bates (2nd wkt), New Zealand v Pakistan, Sydney, 2009
258* - Reshma Gandhi & Mithali Raj (1st wkt), India v Ireland, Milton Keynes, 1999
246 - Lynne Thomas & Enid Bakewell (1st wkt), England v International XI, Hove, 1973

India hammered the Irish by 10 wickets in their opening game of the tournament while a six-wicket defeat by Zimbabwe was then followed by a 178-run reverse against the hosts last Thursday.

Seven uncapped players - Aoife Beggs, Rachel Delaney, Louise Little, Lara Maritz, Sophie MacMahon, Leah Paul and Rebecca Stokell - were included in Ireland's 15-woman squad for the tournament as a number of regulars were unavailable.

Ireland's women missed out on earning a place at this year's World Cup in England at the qualification tournament in Sri Lanka in February.

Top Stories