County Championship: Leicestershire v Glamorgan (Fri)

By Nick WebbBBC Wales Sport
Aneurin Donald
Glamorgan batsman Aneurin Donald hit 57 against Worcestershire

Leicestershire and Glamorgan are both without key players as they try to bounce back after two opening defeats.

Home captain Mark Cosgrove, the former Glamorgan batsman, is suspended while Colin Ackermann is out injured, but fellow South African Cameron Delport could make a Championship debut.

Glamorgan, who bowled first, are still missing Will Bragg, Graham Wagg and Timm van der Gugten.

"I think everyone's got to the point where they know it's not acceptable" said Glamorgan batsman Aneurin Donald.

Glamorgan lost to Worcestershire by eight wickets following a two-day opening defeat by an innings at Northampton.

"We've been itching to get in the nets and work hard on our game. But it shows a lot about the character of the group that morale is still up, it's a long season fortunately for us and we've got plenty of time to turn it round- hopefully this is that week" Donald told BBC Wales Sport.

He refused to blame a blow on the helmet for getting out on 57 against Worcestershire, later in the same over.

"I was pretty annoyed getting out a couple of balls afterwards because I didn't feel I was affected by the hit. It's nice to get a couple of runs under the belt, but it's about converting those starts" said the 20 year-old batsman.

Leicestershire, who have lost to Gloucestershire and Nottinghamshire, make four changes under acting captain Ned Eckersley.

Seamers Charlie Shreck returns from suspension and Lewis Hill keeps wicket.

"We were expecting better results and if we haven't had the rub of the green, we've contributed (to that) including by dropping catches" all-rounder Ben Raine told the Foxes' website.

"But there's full confidence we have enough to turn it round. It's a massive game against a team in a similar position."

Glamorgan bring spinner Andrew Salter for Harry Podmore.

Leicestershire: Eckersley (capt), Chappell, Dearden, Delport, Dexter, Hill, Horton, McKay, Pettini, Raine, Shreck.

Glamorgan: Rudolph (capt), Selman, Lloyd, Ingram, Donald, Cooke, Carlson, Salter, De Lange, Carey, Hogan.

Top Stories