England retain same squad for West Indies ODI series

Joe Root and Eoin Morgan
Joe Root and Eoin Morgan helped England to win the first Twenty20 international in India
England in West Indies
Dates and venues: 3 March, 5 March (both Antigua), 9 March (Barbados)
Coverage: Ball-by-ball Test Match Special commentary on BBC Radio 5 live sports extra, Radio 4 LW, online, tablets, mobiles and BBC Sport app. Live text commentary on the BBC Sport website.

England have named an unchanged squad, minus the injured Alex Hales, for March's one-day international series in the West Indies.

Opener Hales fractured a hand as England lost 2-1 in their series in India earlier this month.

England will play two matches in Antigua with a third in Barbados before the teams face each other again in England in the summer.

The West Indies are ninth in the one-day standings, four below England.

Sam Billings replaced Hales for the final ODI in the three-match series in India, and also opened the batting in the first of the Twenty20 matches against the same opposition.

Asked about taking on the role, he told BBC Sport: "At the moment I am just focusing on these next two games if I get another opportunity.

"I've just got to keep working hard at all aspects of my game.

"It's about being able to adapt from one to seven and offering as much as I can to the side."

England ODI squad: Eoin Morgan (Middlesex, captain), Moeen Ali (Worcestershire), Jonny Bairstow (Yorkshire), Jake Ball (Nottinghamshire), Sam Billings (Kent), Jos Buttler (Lancashire), Liam Dawson (Hampshire), Liam Plunkett (Yorkshire), Adil Rashid (Yorkshire), Joe Root (Yorkshire), Jason Roy (Surrey), Ben Stokes (Durham), David Willey (Yorkshire), Chris Woakes (Warwickshire).


Join the conversation

These comments are now closed.


Top Stories


Elsewhere on the BBC