World Twenty20 2016: New Zealand beat Bangladesh for fourth win

By Jamie LillywhiteBBC Sport
ICC World Twenty20 Group 2, Kolkata
New Zealand 145-8 (20 overs): Williamson 42, Mustafizur 5-22
Bangladesh 70 (15.4 overs): Hom 16*, Elliott 3-12
New Zealand won by 75 runs

New Zealand maintained their unbeaten record in the 2016 World Twenty20 with a 75-run victory against Bangladesh at Eden Gardens in Kolkata.

Kiwi skipper Kane Williamson struck four fours and a six in the opening five overs but Mustafizur Rahman took 5-22 with clever left-arm variations.

They were the best figures of the event and restricted the Kiwis to 145-8.

But Bangladesh lost record run-scorer Tamim Iqbal in the second over as they made their lowest T20 total of 70.

2016 ICC World Twenty20 best bowling figures
5-22: Mustafizur Rahman, Bangladesh v New Zealand
5-27: James Faulkner, Australia v Pakistan
4-11: Mitchell Santner, New Zealand v India
4-11: Paul van Meekeren, Netherlands v Ireland

It was the lowest score of the tournament, the lowest at the famous Eden Gardens and the lowest against New Zealand.

The match featured 10 bowled dismissals, another record in T20 internationals.

Williamson also remained unbeaten with the toss of the coin and chose to bat first for the fourth match in succession, but after some clean early hitting he was deceived by 20-year-old Sussex signing Mustafizur in the ninth over.

Subtly changing his wrist position with devastating effect, Mustafizur bamboozled the batsmen throughout, claiming wickets in consecutive deliveries in the final over. It needed Mitchell McClenaghan to avert the hat-trick off the final ball with a 90-metre six to ensure the Kiwis of their second-highest total of the tournament.

Tamim, Bangladesh's record run-scorer in all three formats, fell to a direct hit from backward point in the second over as Colin Munro threw down the middle stump and New Zealand quickly took the ascendancy with some accurate bowling and sharp fielding.

There was an 11-minute delay because of floodlight failure but seamer Grant Elliott and spinner Ish Sodhi both ripped through with three wickets apiece to deny the spirited Tigers a first win.

Top Stories