WCSL: Yorkshire Diamonds host Loughborough Lightning in opening game

England walk out at Hove
England's 19 contracted players will be split between the six WCSL sides

The team names and schedule for this summer's first ever Women's Cricket Super League have been announced.

Lancashire Thunder, Loughborough Lightning, Southern Vipers, Surrey Stars, Western Storm and Yorkshire Diamonds will compete in a Twenty20 competition starting on 30 July.

Diamonds will host Lightning in the opening match at Headingley.

Following a round-robin competition, Chelmsford will host the final on 21 August.

The tournament will see seven first-class venues used:

Southampton - Southern Vipers

Bristol and Taunton - Western Storm

Old Trafford - Lancashire Thunder

Headingley - Yorkshire Diamonds

The Oval - Surrey Stars

Chelmsford - Finals Day

England & Wales Cricket Board director of England women's cricket Clare Connor said: "Today represents another huge step towards delivering our vision of creating a dynamic, inspirational and high quality domestic women's game in England."

"This time last year the Women's Cricket Super League was simply a concept, and now we have six exciting new teams, some innovative partnerships and a fixture list that includes at least 11 matches being played at seven different first-class grounds across the country."

A full fixture list can be found here.external-link (External link)

Top Stories