World T20 qualifiers: Kyle Coetzer upset by Scotland omission

Kyle Coetzer
Kyle Coetzer made 253 runs at this year's World Cup

Kyle Coetzer says he is "hugely disappointed" not to be included in Scotland's 15-man squad for next month's World T20 qualifiers.

The 31-year-old Northamptonshire batsman was vice-captain at this year's World Cup and was the team's leading run-scorer with an average of 42.

Craig Wallace, George Munsey and teenage left-arm spinner Mark Watt are called up.

There is also a place for recently-qualified Con de Lange.

The South Africa-born 34-year-old made his Scotland debut in last week's Intercontinental Cup game with Afghanistan, taking 3-9 in a rain-affected draw, including a wicket from his first ball.

Coetzer is a former captain and has T20 World Cup experience.

Scotland captain Preston Mommsen
Preston Mommsen will captain Scotland in their bid to reach India in 2016

"I believed I had a great deal to offer Scotland in all three formats of the game," he said.

"I am immensely proud of my overall record for Scotland, which includes being their leading run-scorer in the T20 format and for Scotland at the 2009 T20 World Cup.

"After the recent 50-over World Cup which was successful from a personal point of view it is upsetting I will not be able to transfer that into the shorter format of the game.

"Having played in a T20 World Cup before, overseas T20 comps and in the Northants side that won the T20 competition in 2013, I would have loved to have been able to pass on some of my experience to the exciting younger members of the squad to play a key part in the qualification, but unfortunately that is not to be.

"I look forward to hopefully being involved in future squads and good luck to those involved at the qualifiers."

Preston Mommsen continues as skipper but Matt Machan is unavailable having committed to Sussex.

Off-spinner Majid Haq, who was sent home from the World Cup for disciplinary reasons, is also omitted.

"There is an exciting blend of dynamic skills throughout the squad, while as a team we have a simple goal of winning the T20 qualifiers," said head coach Grant Bradburn.

The 14-team qualifying event will be staged across eight venues in Ireland and Scotland from 9-26 July.

The two group winners automatically qualify for the World Twenty20 to be held in India in March - April 2016.

The sides finishing second and third in each group will play cross-over matches with the two winners progressing.

The losing sides from the two play-off matches will then play the fourth-placed sides from each of the two groups in cross-over matches, with the winners completing the 16-team line-up.

Scotland, who failed to reach the 2014 World Twenty20, will warm up with a three-match series against co-hosts Ireland later this month.

Scotland: Preston Mommsen (capt), Matthew Cross (vc), Richie Berrington, Freddie Coleman, Josh Davey, Con de Lange, Alasdair Evans, Michael Leask, Calum MacLeod, Gavin Main, George Munsey, Safyaan Sharif, Rob Taylor, Craig Wallace, Mark Watt.

Top Stories