Tyrone Kane given first Ireland call-up for World T20 qualifiers

Merrion all-rounder Tyrone Kane
Tyrone Kane earns a call up after a series of impressive recent performances for Leinster Lightning

Merrion all-rounder Tyrone Kane has been handed a first Ireland call-up for next month's World Twenty20 qualifiers and the T20 series against Scotland.

With Ed Joyce and Tim Murtagh having retired from Ireland T20 duty, Kane, 20, is named in a largely experienced squad for the World T20 qualifiers.

Max Sorensen and Andrew Poynter are omitted for the qualifying tournament.

However, the duo will be part of Ireland's squad for the three games against Scotland later this month.

Those three T20 games will be played at Northern Irish venue Bready on 18, 19 and 21 June.

The World T20 qualifiers will take place in Ireland and Scotland from 6-26 July with the Irish opening their campaign against Namibia at Stormont on 10 July.

Ireland will then play three more games at Stormont against the USA (12 July), Nepal (13 July) and Papua New Guinea (15 July) before switching to Malahide for the encounters with Hong Kong (17 July) and Jersey (19 July).

Max Sorensen in action against the United Arab Emirates at this year's World Cup
Max Sorensen played in Ireland's first three matches at the this year's World Cup

The play-off games, all the way up to the final, will be played at Malahide and Clontarf.

Ireland coach John Bracewell said that Kane "deserves his chance" after impressing for Leinster Lightning in the Inter-Provincial series.

"He's very much an impact player as shown by his performances in the T20 games this season," added Bracewell.

"The World Cup qualifier squad has a nice blend of youth and experience despite the retirements of Ed Joyce and Tim Murtagh.

"There have been a lot of match-winning efforts by our guys in the T20 Blast in England too, so everyone looks to be in really fine form going into these games."

Bracewell said it was a tough decision to leave out Sorensen and Andrew Poynter from the World T20 qualifiers.

"They are naturally disappointed but they are included in the Scotland series so they have a chance to impress should they be needed in case of injuries."

Kevin O'Brien skippers Ireland in the Scotland series with William Porterfield unavailable but the regular captain will return for the World T20 qualifiers.

Gary Wilson and Niall O'Brien will also miss the Scotland games because of county commitments so Durham keeper Stuart Poynter will keep wicket at Bready.

Other English county-based players Andrew Balbirnie, George Dockrell and Paul Stirling may also not be available for all the Scotland games.

Ireland squads

World T20 Qualifier squad (July 6-26)

William Porterfield (capt) (Warwickshire), Andrew Balbirnie (Middlesex), Alex Cusack (Clontarf), George Dockrell (Somerset), Tyrone Kane (Merrion), Andrew McBrine (Donemana), Graeme McCarter (Coleraine), John Mooney (Balbriggan), Niall O'Brien (Leicestershire), Kevin O'Brien (Railway Union), Stuart Poynter (Durham), Paul Stirling (Middlesex), Stuart Thompson (Eglinton), Gary Wilson (Surrey), Craig Young (Bready).

Scotland T20 series (June 18, 19, and 21 at Bready CC)

Kevin O'Brien (capt) (Railway Union), Andrew Balbirnie (Middlesex), Alex Cusack (Clontarf), George Dockrell (Somerset), Tyrone Kane (Merrion), Andrew McBrine (Donemana), Graeme McCarter (Coleraine), John Mooney (Balbriggan), Andrew Poynter (Clontarf), Stuart Poynter (Durham), Max Sorensen (The Hills), Paul Stirling(Middlesex), Stuart Thompson (Eglinton), Craig Young (Bready).

Top Stories