Ireland v England: James Taylor asks for 'fresh start'

James Taylor
James Taylor made his ODI debut against Ireland in 2011
Ireland v England, one-day international
Venue: Malahide Dates: Friday, 8 May Coverage: Ball-by-ball Test Match Special commentary on BBC Radio 5 live sports extra, online, tablets, mobiles and BBC Sport app. Live text commentary on the BBC Sport website.

James Taylor says the England one-day team must make a "fresh start" when they meet Ireland on Friday.

Taylor, deputising for Eoin Morgan as captain, leads a 13-man squad that includes seven uncapped players in England's first one-day international since a dismal World Cup campaign.

"We have to put the World Cup behind us," Taylor told BBC Sport.

"It is a fresh start with plenty of new faces. It's an exciting and talented squad that I am lucky to lead."

England captaincy 'treat' for Taylor

Only Nottinghamshire batsman Taylor, Alex Hales and Steven Finn remain from England's World Cup squad, with Morgan, along with Ravi Bopara, playing in the Indian Premier League.

Regular one-day squad members Ian Bell, Joe Root, Jos Buttler, Moeen Ali, James Anderson and Stuart Broad were not considered because of their parts in the recent Test tour of the West Indies, but Jonny Bairstow, Adil Rashid and Mark Wood have all returned from the Caribbean and are available at Malahide.

Durham seamer Wood is joined by six other men uncapped at ODI level: Jason Roy, James Vince, Sam Billings, Zafar Ansari, David Willey and Lewis Gregory.

"There will be plenty of guys making their debuts, so Ireland might feel confident," added 25-year-old Taylor, who will lead England for the first time.

"But we will give it a real good crack and I'm sure we will put in some really good performances."

Ireland also play their first ODI after an impressive World Cup in which they won three of their six group games and only missed a place in the quarter-finals on net run-rate.

"It's a fixture we have been looking forward to since the World Cup," said Ireland captain William Porterfield. "We're raring to go.

"There might be some nerves in the England changing room, so it will be interesting to see if they can still play with same freedom they have in county cricket."

England have won five of the six ODIs they have played against Ireland, with the only defeat famously coming at the 2011 World Cup.

Centuries from Morgan and Bopara gave England victory last time they played in Ireland in 2013.

Ireland (from): William Porterfield (c), (Warwickshire), Andrew Balbirnie (Middlesex), Alex Cusack (Clontarf), George Dockrell (Somerset), Ed Joyce (Sussex), Andrew McBrine (Donemana), John Mooney (North County), Kevin O'Brien (Railway Union), Niall O'Brien (Leicestershire), Paul Stirling (Middlesex), Stuart Thompson (Eglinton), Gary Wilson (Surrey), Craig Young (Bready).

England (from): James Taylor (c) (Nottinghamshire), Zafar Ansari (Surrey), Jonny Bairstow (wk) (Yorkshire), Sam Billings (Kent), Tim Bresnan (Yorkshire), Steven Finn (Middlesex), Lewis Gregory (Somerset), Alex Hales (Nottinghamshire), Adil Rashid (Yorkshire), Jason Roy (Surrey), James Vince (Hampshire), David Willey (Northamptonshire), Mark Wood (Durham).