England v West Indies: Jonathan Trott says he can cope if selected

Jonathan Trott
The last of Jonathan Trott's 49 Test matches was against Australia in Brisbane in November, 2013.
First Test: West Indies v England
Venue: Antigua Date: Monday, 13 April
Coverage: Live Test Match Special radio and text commentary on every match on BBC Radio 5 live sports extra & BBC Sport website, plus desktop, tablets, mobiles and app.

Jonathan Trott is "confident he can cope" with the demands of playing for England if selected for the first Test against West Indies on Monday.

The 33-year-old batsman is poised to win his 50th Test cap and his first since quitting the 2013-14 Ashes Tour with stress-related problems.

"I've been tested on and off the field and had to go through the ringer to get here," said Trott.

"So, yes, I feel really confident I can cope and do really well."

West Indies have named a 14-man squad for the Test including two uncapped players - 21-year-old wicketkeeper-batsman Shai Hope and fast bowler Carlos Brathwaite.

Trott is expected to open alongside captain Alastair Cook in Antigua which starts a run of 17 Tests in the next nine months for England, including the Ashes series against Australia in July.

Since making his return from his illness, Trott has scored heavily for Warwickshire and enjoyed a successful tour of South Africa with England Lions earlier this year, including an unbeaten 211 against South Africa A.

"I didn't know if I was going to be selected but I had to get my head down and push my case forward and that's all I could do. - I'm really glad," he said.

"It's been a little bit frustrating being stuck on 49 [Test caps] all that time, but I'm really proud of what I've achieved so to get a 50th cap would be great."

West Indies have also included leg-spinner Devendra Bishoo, who played his 11th and last Test three years ago, in their squad and will be captained by Dinesh Ramdin.

West Indies squad for first Test: D Ramdin (c), K Brathwaite, S Benn, D Bishoo, J Blackwood, C Brathwaite, Da Bravo, S Chanderpaul, J Holder, S Hope, K Roach, M Samuels, D Smith, J Taylor.

England squad: A Cook (c), J Trott, G Ballance, I Bell, J Root, B Stokes, J Buttler (wkt), C Jordan, A Rashid, S Broad, J Anderson, J Bairstow, A Lyth, J Tredwell, L Plunkett, M Wood.