Alastair Cook & James Anderson on ICC cricketer award shortlist

Alastair Cook and James Anderson

England captain Alastair Cook and fast bowler James Anderson have been named on the six-man shortlist for the 2013 ICC Cricketer of the Year award.

They are joined on the list by South Africa's Hashim Amla, Australian Michael Clarke, Mahendra Singh Dhoni of India and Sri Lanka's Kumar Sangakkara.

Anderson, Amla and Clarke are in the running for Test Cricketer of the Year.

Joe Root is up for Emerging Cricketer of the Year while three members of England's women's team are nominated.

Charlotte Edwards and Anya Shrubsole have been short-listed for the Women's ODI Cricketer of the Year while Sarah Taylor is in contention to be Women's T20I Cricketer of the Year.

Ireland pair Kevin O'Brien and Ed Joyce, along with Scotland's Kyle Coetzer, are on a four-man list for the Associate and Affiliate Cricketer of the Year.

Sangakkara won both the Cricketer of the Year and Test Cricketer of the Year awards - which are decided by votes from a panel of former players, members of the media and an elite umpire - in 2012.

This year's winners will be announced on 14 December,external-link although the ICC has already named Dhoni the winner of the People's Choice award voted online by fans, and nominated its Test and one-day teams of the year:

People's choice award:

Winner - Mahendra Singh Dhoni (Ind)

Other nominees: Alastair Cook (Eng), Michael Clarke (Aus), Virat Kohli (Ind), AB de Villiers (SA)

ICC's Test team of the year (in batting order):

Alastair Cook (Eng, capt), Cheteshwar Pujara (Ind), Hashim Amla (SA), Michael Clarke (Aus), Michael Hussey (Aus), AB de Villiers (SA), Mahendra Singh Dhoni (Ind, wicketkeeper), Graeme Swann (Eng), Dale Steyn (SA), James Anderson (Eng) Vernon Philander (SA). 12th Man: Ravichandran Ashwin (Ind)

ICC's one-day team of the year (in batting order):

Tillakaratne Dilshan (Sri), Shikhar Dhawan (Ind), Hashim Amla (SA), Kumar Sangakkara (Sri), AB de Villiers (SA), Mahendra Singh Dhoni (Ind, capt and wicketkeeper), Ravindra Jadeja (Ind), Saeed Ajmal (Pkn), Mitchell Starc (Aus), James Anderson (Eng), Lasith Malinga (Sri) 12th Man: Mitchell McClenaghan (NZ)