Moeen Ali wins PCA Player of the Year award

Moeen Ali batting for England Lions against Australia

Worcestershire's Moeen Ali has been named Player of the Year by the Professional Cricketers' Association.

The 26-year-old all-rounder scored more than 2,000 runs in all forms of the game this summer, and took 55 wickets with his off-spin bowling.

He also appeared for the England Lions side this summer and will be part of the Performance Programme squad in Australia this winter.

Durham's Ben Stokes took the Young Player of the Year award.

Stokes, 22, helped Durham win the County Championship for the third time in six years this summer and has been included in England's part for the forthcoming Ashes tour.

The pair were honoured at the PCA's annual awards ceremony, held this year at the Roundhouse in London.

Moeen's achievement follows a disappointing season for his county, who finished fifth in Division Two of the Championship and in the same position in their FLt20 and YB40 groups.

He was the Championship's leading scorer with 1,375 runs at an average of 62.50 and his four centuries included a career-best 250 against Glamorgan.

Graham Onions (Durham), David Willey (Northants) and Peter Trego (Somerset) were named top player in the Championship, FLt20 and YB40 respectively, while paceman James Anderson took the Most Valuable Player award for the England team.

PCA Player of the Year

Moeen Ali (Worcestershire)

Young Player of the Year

Ben Stokes (Durham)

ECB Special Award

Jim Cumbes

Special Merit Award

Tony Greig

FLt20 Player of the Year

David Willey (Northamptonshire)

YB40 Player of the Year

Peter Trego (Somerset)

County Championship Player of the Year

Graham Onions (Durham)

England MVP of the Summer

James Anderson

ODI Player of the Summer

Ravi Bopara

Test Player of the Summer

Graeme Swann

Sky Sports Sixes League Winner

Ryan ten Doeschate (Essex)

Team of the Year: Joe Root (Yorkshire & England), Michael Klinger (Gloucestershire), Moeen Ali (Worcestershire), Ian Bell (Warwickshire & England), Samit Patel (Nottinghamshire), Ben Stokes (Durham & England), Phil Mustard (Durham), Stuart Broad (Nottinghamshire & England), Graeme Swann (Nottinghamshire & England), Michael Hogan (Glamorgan), James Anderson (Lancashire & England).