Trent Bridge to host Ashes Tests in 2013 and 2015

England captain Andrew Strauss
England captain Andrew Strauss leads the Ashes celebrations in Australia last winter

Nottinghamshire's Trent Bridge will host two Ashes Tests after the England and Wales Cricket Board announced international venues until 2016.

Lord's and The Oval will also stage games in 2013 and 2015, but Headingley and the Rose Bowl miss out.

The other 2013 Tests will take place at Old Trafford - which last staged one in 2005 - and Durham's Riverside, a new addition to the Ashes roster.

Cardiff and Edgbaston will host the remaining two Tests in 2015.

The ECB delivered the independent major match group's decision, not just on which venues will stage the next two Ashes series, but also many other international fixtures between 2013 and 2016.

Headingley and the Rose Bowl will host one-day internationals against Australia and Tests against other tourists while Bristol will host New Zealand, India and Sri Lanka in ODIs.

For Nottinghamshire in particular, the revenue they can generate from the Ashes Tests at Trent Bridge will come as a vindication of their decision to spend millions of pounds upgrading facilities.

"It is absolutely enormous," said Nottinghamshire chief executive Derek Brewer of the decision to award his county Ashes Tests in consecutive series.

"One of our objectives was to get Trent Bridge at the forefront of international cricket. We have certainly achieved that. It's been a massive team effort, a very long and exacting process."

Lancashire chief executive Jim Cumbes said the announcement heightened the feelgood factor at Old Trafford.

"This has been our goal since 2006," he said.

"We are delighted to see the Ashes return to Old Trafford. It has certainly been a fantastic couple of weeks for the club - winning the county championship after such a long wait and the final seal of approval to proceed with our redevelopment.

"This is just the icing on the cake."

Colin Povey, chief executive at Warwickshire, said "While we are disappointed not to have been awarded an Ashes Test in 2013, we should remember the Aussies will play one-day internationals at Edgbaston in 2012 and 2013," he said.

"In addition, we can now look forward to an Ashes Test in 2015."

The major match group is chaired by Lord Morris, who explained the decision-making process.

"Lord's is the home of cricket and demonstrated to the major match group its unique iconic status and the exceptional benefits which staging major matches at Lord's can bring to the game," he said.

"The MMG also noted the MCC's commitment to further develop the facilities at Lord's as well as the significant support which MCC provides to university and community cricket in England and Wales and the game around the world.

"As a result of these exceptional characteristics, Lord's has been awarded the 'platinum package'."

ECB chairman Giles Clarke added: "The quality of the submissions made by the venues was outstanding and reflects the importance to regions as well as venues in staging major matches.

"The awards for the next five-year period will enable counties to review and where necessary revise their business plans with the certainty of their match programme over a substantial period of time.



West Indies Tests: Edgbaston, Trent Bridge, Lord's

West Indies ODIs: Rose Bowl, Headingley, The Oval

West Indies T20: Trent Bridge

South Africa Tests: Headingley, The Oval, Lord's

South Africa ODIs: Lord's, Cardiff, Rose Bowl, Trent Bridge, The Oval

South Africa T20: Old Trafford, Edgbaston, Durham

Australia ODIs: Lord's, Old Trafford, Edgbaston, The Oval, Durham


New Zealand Tests: Headingley, Cardiff

New Zealand ODIs: Rose Bowl, The Oval, Lord's, Trent Bridge, Bristol

Australia Tests: Durham, The Oval, Lord's, Trent Bridge, Old Trafford

Australia ODI: Old Trafford, Cardiff, Edgbaston, Headingley, Rose Bowl

Australia T20: Durham, Rose Bowl


Sri Lanka Tests: Headingley, Lord's

Sri Lanka ODIs: Lord's, Old Trafford, Edgbaston, The Oval, Durham

Sri Lanka T20: The Oval

India Tests: Lord's, Trent Bridge, Old Trafford, Rose Bowl, The Oval

India ODIs: Cardiff, Edgbaston, Headingley, Trent Bridge, Bristol


New Zealand Tests: Headingley, Lord's

New Zealand ODIs: Trent Bridge, Edgbaston, The Oval, Durham, Rose Bowl

New Zealand T20: Old Trafford

Australia Tests: Lord's, Trent Bridge, Cardiff, The Oval, Edgbaston

Australia ODIs: Lord's, Old Trafford, Durham, Rose Bowl, Headingley

Australia T20: Cardiff


Pakistan Tests: Lord's, Old Trafford, Edgbaston, The Oval

Pakistan ODIs: Lord's, Trent Bridge, Cardiff, Rose Bowl, Headingley

Pakistan T20: Old Trafford

Sri Lanka Tests: Lord's, Headingley, Durham

Sri Lanka ODIs: Trent Bridge, Cardiff, Edgbaston, The Oval, Bristol

Sri Lanka T20: Rose Bowl