England women seek victory in Twenty20 quad series

Full fixtures for women's quadrangular series
Aimee Watkins, Jhulan Goswami, Charlotte Edwards and Jodie Fields
Captains Aimee Watkins, Jhulan Goswami, Charlotte Edwards and Jodie Fields

England aim to re-establish themselves as the top Twenty20 side in the women's game in a four-nation series which starts on Thursday.

Charlotte Edwards's team won the World Twenty20 title in 2009, but lost the trophy to Australia in May last year.

In Thursday's opening matches, England face New Zealand in Chelmsford after Australia take on India at Billericay.

The round-robin phase of the competition will be followed by a final at the Rose Bowl next Monday.

England's hopes of victory - and in the 50-over tournament which follows - have been boosted by the return to the squad of batters Arran Brindle and the Taylors, Claire and Sarah.

Brindle, 29, is in line to make her first England appearance for five years after deciding to end her self-imposed exile from international cricket - and buoyed by last month becoming the first woman to score a century in a men's Premier League fixture.

Claire Taylor is now fully fit after having to return home early from the tour to Australia in January because of a shoulder problem, while her younger namesake Sarah will resume as wicketkeeper and opening bat after taking a break from England duties over the winter.

Australia have just beaten New Zealand 2-0 in a one-day series after their Twenty20 series was shared 2-2 earlier this year.

However, the Southern Stars are without seamer Ellyse Perry as the dual international is playing for Australia at the women's football World Cup.

England squad: Charlotte Edwards (capt), Jenny Gunn (vice-capt), Arran Brindle, Katherine Brunt, Holly Colvin, Lydia Greenway, Danielle Hazell, Heather Knight, Laura Marsh, Anya Shrubsole, Claire Taylor, Sarah Taylor (wk), Fran Wilson, Danielle Wyatt.

Australia squad: Jodie Fields (capt & wk), Alex Blackwell (vice-capt), Jess Cameron, Sarah Coyte, Rachael Haynes, Jess Jonassen, Meg Lanning, Annie Maloney, Sharon Millanta, Shelley Nitschke, Erin Osborne, Leah Poulton, Clea Smith, Lisa Sthalekar.

India squad: Jhulan Goswami (capt), Amita Sharma (vice-capt), Ekta Bisht, Diana David, Anagha Deshpande, Shilpa Gupta, Harmanpreet Kaur, Veda Krishnamurthy, Samantha Lobatto (wk), Snehal Pradhan, Mithali Raj, Poonam Raut, Priyanka Roy, Gouher Sultana, Neha Tanwar.

New Zealand squad: Aimee Watkins (capt), Amy Satterthwaite (vice-capt), Kelly Anderson, Suzie Bates, Kate Broadmore, Nicola Browne, Lucy Doolan, Sara McGlashan (wk), Frances Mackay, Katey Martin (wk), Liz Perry, Rachel Priest, Sian Ruck, Lea Tahuhu.

Top Stories